Poets logo

Kindling for a Fire

Read by Candlelight

By Poppy Published 2 years ago Updated 7 months ago 1 min read
5
Kindling for a Fire
Photo by Hayden Scott on Unsplash

I am running around in circles, chasing my heartstrings. The road ends in spike-strips and screaming brakes, I turn up the music and press the accelerator anyway, not caring about the rain slick bitumen or the cars that crash around me. There is me and there is my heart, and if you can't have both, please at least accept this broken thing beating in my palms.

I am tripping over warnings and logic and everything I keep blissfully ignoring. This book will end up kindling for a fire, long after it is hidden beneath my pillow and read by candlelight every night. There is you and there is your heart, and I know I cannot have either but I crave them both just the same.

I'm falling over the edge, reaching for you, grasping empty air. This ends in blood. This ends the same way it started: me holding out my heart to you while you tie yours to hers. There is you and there is her and there is this poem; being used to stoke your fire and keep you both warm in the wintertime.

❀❀❀❀❀

Please read more of my poetry and prose like the one below:

heartbreaklove poemssad poetry
5

About the Creator

Poppy

‘Wasted Love' available to purchase here in paperback and eBook format.

Find me on:

Instagram. Facebook. Tiktok. Pinterest. Twitter. Medium. Patreon.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Lovely yet,heart breakung💖💕

  • This was so heart-wrenching! This line hit me hard: me holding out my heart to you while you tie yours to hers. A very beautifully written prose!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.