Poets logo

Kaleidoscope

where love no longer leaves bruises

By Eden RowlandPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
Kaleidoscope
Photo by Sharon McCutcheon on Unsplash

Maybe I’m not going to hide anymore.

Maybe I’m going to hold my head up proudly,

place my scars on display,

fall in love with the bruises that come from loving so damn hard.

This life filters through my veins and leaves its footprints scattered across my soul.

Maybe I don’t want to sweep up the dirt anymore to pretend this house is perfect.

Maybe perfection is the blueprint to the mansion I always thought I wanted,

but now I see those mansions are cold and empty and

with dirt comes new life,

with scars comes healing.

I will follow them like train tracks to a new beginning.

To the place where the warrior is patiently waiting to be freed.

Maybe I’ll finally free her.

Inhale the breath that tastes like release.

Exhale the walls I used to lean on.

Become the kaleidoscope of color that comes from

splattering paint across an empty canvas.

Maybe I’ll break the rules I set against my self.

Lean into the lioness with an untamed roar.

Maybe she knows where she’s going

Maybe she knows of a city on a hill somewhere far in the distance

Where love doesn’t leave bruises

Where bruises are nothing but the healing kisses of light.

social commentary
2

About the Creator

Eden Rowland

Nature - Nourish - Nurture

Medicine stories and songs for the soul.

Your breath is the exhale of the trees.

Let us remember we are all one.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.