Poets logo

Stained Glass Windows

colors of a human soul

By Eden RowlandPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Stained Glass Windows
Photo by Luke Paris on Unsplash

I wonder where you came from.

What I know about you is only what I know about myself.

I know that you bleed every color of the rainbow.

I know that your heart feels like a sky full of roses, sharp and delicate, blistering with beauty and sorrow all the same.

I know there are moments you feel nothing at all.

The silence is deafening and the nooks of your mind linger vacant under silver cobweb ghosts.

But the silence is always interrupted by a wild howl, and you will always find life buried in the dust, because you

are antique,

getting older, growing vibrant like the ancient stars above.

But like the stars, you are a mystery.

I don't know how many times you've watched your heart shatter like glass,

or the ways you've learned to discover treasures in the rubble,

or how often you decipher between shards that can be made into art and shards that can only draw blood from your skin.

I do know that the walls of your heart are covered in stained glass windows only you can see.

And though my eyes will never understand the blues and blacks and reds of your scars, what I do know is this:

I too have murals punctured full of holes.

And the light that peeks through my wounds is the same light that makes you whole.

art
1

About the Creator

Eden Rowland

Nature - Nourish - Nurture

Medicine stories and songs for the soul.

Your breath is the exhale of the trees.

Let us remember we are all one.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.