Poets logo

K’uychi [Kwee-chee]

How I was renamed after the Incan Rainbow Goddess

By Chaski K’uychiPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
A selfie with my namesake, La Diosa K'uychi in La Paz, Bolivia

Some terms that may be helpful to know before diving into this poem: Pachamama - Mother Earth, Inti - The Incan Sun God, quewa - Two-Spirit, Chaski - messenger

The rains roll in

We despair we may drown

So we anchor onto Pachamama

The deluge simmers into a mist

And Inti shines his rays onto us as refuge

His light sheds wisdom through the prism of our tears

Inti reflects the divinity and infinity held within each raindrop we shed

K’uychi

Radiant energy that mirrors

Our divine connection to Spirit

You see her and immediately grin - for this

Goddess has emerged to

Bless and remind you that you were made in God’s

Image - and when you bask in her energy you are gifted with a renewed sense of

Vitality

K’uychi

Rooted into an ancestral lineage of resilience

Observing the emotions and wisdom that rise with the tides of my moon cycle

Your center of power - a gift you forgot you possessed - a

Gentle heart

Born to roar

Illuminating sacred visions

Vividly sourced from Spirit directly into your Crown

K’uychi

Remembering the spilt blood of my ancestors

Owning the fire within me that was extinguished within them

Yearning to lay sunflowers on their forgotten tombs

Great grandmothers whose spirits dwell within Eucalyptus trees

Baptizing myself in my ancestral waters at

Isla del Sol - dreaming of our heavenly reunion sipping on chalices of

Vinito made by my grandmother’s hands

K’uychi

Rummaging through ancestral memory wondering was I really the

Only one or the first one to be out? No way.

You’re what?!

Gay.

But you’re pretty, and wear makeup, and [used to] date boys!

I just don’t understand

Vast oceans of shame and disgust barely contained behind a dam of screeching silent disapproval

K’uychi

Rage burning through my veins for all

Of the ancestors who couldn’t live in their authentic truth

Yelling and wailing til we’re seen, heard, held, loved

Grieving for all who needed to be nurtured

Black, Brown

Indigenous Trancestors - who paved the way - whose

Valiant spirits SURGE through us - we remember you, we honor you, we love you

K’uychi

Trial by fire

The ancestors came calling

They asked for a sacrifice - a death

The death of who I thought I was

They shaved my head bald and cradled me as I wept

And revealed the true essence of who I’ve always been

Infinite and glorious like K’uychi

A delicate balance of the divine feminine and masculine

A quewa, Two-Spirit messenger sent to heal

So they held me as I gave birth to my true self and baptized me as

Chaski K’uychi

Messenger of the Rainbow Goddess

K’uychi

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Chaski K’uychi

(They/Them)

Two-Spirit Medicine Being🍯

Death/Grief Priestexx/Doula 💀

Spirit-Led Dancer🧚🏽

Ex K-3 Teacher 👩🏽‍🏫

📍Ancestral lands🇧🇴🏳️‍🌈

Follow me on IG @chaski_kuychi

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.