Poets logo

Just My Imagination

April 2021

By N. ThomasPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
Just My Imagination
Photo by Ibrahim Mushan on Unsplash

I've been doing fine on my own for all these years, so I don't know why it's like this with you, but you're my sweet reprieve

It's like my pride and shame are gone, doing corny things I'm embarrassed to even admit to

Every time I'm there it feels more comfortable, and each time it's harder and harder to leave

When you're gone sometimes I put pillows in your spot with your shirt on them so it smells like you

When something happens, you're the first person I want to tell, after the storms in my life, you're my rainbow

Date nights on the town or listening to music at home and trying to convince you to dance with me

I don't know if I should say to give me a chance because maybe I had it and blew it, but I believe this love could grow

I don't know what it is about you, all I know is you're like my Visa card because you're everywhere I want to be

My ambitions include getting old and not having to look back at my life full of regret and dreams derailed

I want to establish a home but also travel the world and have adventures with you

I want to be better than I am, leave the world better than I found it, have plenty of stories to regale

I want to check things off our bucket lists and not be afraid to try things that are new

It may sound crazy, but I even look forward to the day-to-day, the less exciting, even the mundane

Practical things like who can find the better bargains or splitting up the household chores

Sitting next to each other reading, cuddling up and watching movies, or playing video games

Rubbing your back til you fall asleep or falling asleep in your arms, taking turns listening to each other snore

There will be bad days, losses, and failures, but we'll lean on each other for support and keep moving forward

I see your potential, and for all your future accomplishments, I want to be next to you standing there

We'd be accountability partners, encouraging and supporting each other in reaching our goals we're working toward

I think the rewards would be well worth the risks and the work to build a beautiful life that we can share

love poems
Like

About the Creator

N. Thomas

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.