Poets logo

Blind

March 2021

By N. ThomasPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Blind
Photo by Taras Chernus on Unsplash

I could call you milk because I’d do nothing but spoil you

I could call you Henry XIII because I’d treat you like a king

We’re so compatible and have such a connection, but it could be deeper

If you’d just let me in and admit that between us there really is something

We’re not perfect, but we could be perfect together

I wanted to see where it went because I knew it could be something great

I had high hopes and just wanted you to feel the same

But I know that these feelings aren’t something you can create

I don’t know if you think I’m not good enough for you or not worth commitment

Or if you think there are all these better women out there that you’ll find

I don’t know how this distortion even works or why I keep letting it happen

You act like I’m not shit then got me questioning if I’m the one who’s out of line

You can’t tell me you don’t feel anything, that I’m nothing to you

That it’s not more than a booty call when I go up and stay at your place

They say there’s none blinder than those who won’t see

You can go have LASIK, but you still can’t see what’s in front of your face

For years now you’ve been having your cake and eating it too

Reaping the benefits of work you’re not putting in, so shit or get off the pot

You don’t even seem to appreciate me or see my potential

But I’ve got a line of guys who would love to take your spot

Sometimes I wonder if you’d get jealous if you saw and realized

How many guys are coming after me, but I’m not sure you’d even mind

Still even when guys are talking shit about what they want to do to me

I’m just thinking they probably can’t do it like you the whole time

I try to forget you and be cold-hearted and respond to offers

Even though I know it’s one-sided, I start feeling guilty in advance

Not wanting to be disloyal to someone who doesn’t even want me

Knowing you wouldn’t hesitate to replace me as soon as you had the chance

You stay in my thoughts and prayers, in the forefront of my mind

Sometimes I miss you so much, my stomach hurts, my chest starts to physically ache

I’m barely an afterthought to you if you ever think of me at all

I’m just an after-dinner toothpick to you, you’re my main course, my baked potato and steak

I know you’ve got love to give, but you won’t share it with me

After all this time you still won’t even say the word love

I know I can’t make you love me, but I still sense you’re holding back

You avoid showing me emotion, I’m not sure what you’re so afraid of

For some reason you wouldn’t acknowledge even if you wanted to talk

You’d never initiate contact with lowly me, but maybe you’ll respond

Wouldn’t want me to mistakenly think I mean something to you

So you choose your words so carefully so you don’t lead me on

a) Life’s not meant to be lived alone, we need someone to lean on

You need someone to hold you down, but you won’t let me be there

You won’t turn to me no matter how much I’ve shown I’ve got your back

I’ve done everything I can think of to show you how much I care

I want to be there for you, but you’d rather be isolated and withdrawn

You’d rather close yourself off from the world than open up to me

I want to be your ride or die, but you just want me around to ride your dick

It hurts knowing you could have my love, but you’d actually rather be lonely

I know it’s not like either of us chose to be affected by depression

But you actively refuse to even let me try to make you even a little happy

You’ve consciously decided that being alone and depressed

I guess is still better than trying to make anything work with me

I don’t want to seem like I’m not thankful or enjoying my time with you

That’s not it at all, it’s what gets me through, and I cherish every minute

I’m trying to be supportive, but it’s hard in this case having to watch

As you’re building the foundation for a future without me in it

Should I give up now and cut my losses and throw the whole thing out

Should I be patient because they say good things come to those who wait

But you just keep using me and putting me back on the shelf

And I think this whole thing is approaching its expiration date

I tend to daydream a lot, but I don’t think I’m imagining all this

There’s something special between us, I don’t think that I’m wrong

You can front and act like you don’t miss me when I leave

But you’re damn sure gonna miss me when I’m gone

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

N. Thomas

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.