Poets logo

Just Let Me Go

Fake friends can make you question your entire moral compass. Despite the actions of others, I was raised to treat others as I wanted to be treated. I have taken a lot of stabs though out life and have given some too, and I’m working on becoming a better, stronger, individual. Self awareness and reflection before reaction is a daily goal I take seriously. I’ll always have some sort of issue with letting people walk all over me. My heart was just built overloaded with sympathy and empathy. A blessing and a curse.

By Nicole PostonPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
3
“Broken Love” illustrated by my Husband Joseph Poston (January 2022)

All my life I have felt like a burden to the ones I love and care for;

Only good enough when I’m giving them what they want and more.

I focus myself on them with all I have in me,

I try to be everything that they need me to be.

Only to find out that the ones I love the most,

Are the first ones to disappear like a ghost.

What is it about me that makes people run away?

Why am I not good enough to make them wanna stay?

I know I’m broken,

And extremely outspoken;

I sometime struggle with paying attention;

But I promise, I’m always listening.

I give my heart to people I first meet,

I can’t watch anyone suffer or see them in need.

Even though I know nothing about them,

I feel it’s my job to help their heart mend.

I don’t have anything most of the time,

But I always give what I can, even if it’s my last dime

Why do I give a shit even when I know shouldn’t;

Why do I care when I know for sure they wouldn’t?

Why do I forgive and forget so easily,

Even after knowing when I needed them they deserted me?

I’ve settled my whole life to be the stupid one,

When am I gonna finally be smart and say “I’m done”?

Do I deserve to be treated the this way,

Or is it my curse to feel inadequate each and everyday?

by Nicole Poston

performance poetrysad poetrylove poemsinspirationalhow toheartbreakfact or fiction
3

About the Creator

Nicole Poston

Hello! I’m from North Carolina and writing is a passion and life long dream of mine. I write many different genres and styles. Please like, comment and share. It helps give me the confidence to share. Oh and please subscribe!!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran5 months ago

    I felt as if you wrote this poem about me because this is how I exactly feel. Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.