Poets logo

Just

A poem.

By Deborah RobinsonPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
8
Just
Photo by Adam Rehberger on Unsplash

It bothers me when people say 'I am just a stay-at-home mum', or 'Oh, I just work in a shop.' What has happened to make those people feel they have no value? We cannot all be amazing life-savers like doctors and nurses. We cannot all run the country. But, we do all have a role. A very important role, and to better explain what I mean, I wrote this poem, in tribute to all the 'I am just...' people out there.

I am just a stay-at-home-mother.

No. You are a safe-haven,

A nest-maker, a future-shaper, a woman.

A head full of dreams, a delicate, frightened person

With needs and passions.

You are not 'just'.

**********************

I am just an artist.

No. You are a creator of escape.

A precious moment in lines.

A hundred hours of trials and failures.

You are a connection between stories and paper.

You are not 'just'.

**********************

I am just a postman.

No. You are the deliverer of answers.

Bringer of news to the lady awaiting results.

You are a safe, familiar face.

You are known and important.

You are more than 'just'.

***********************

I am just a shop-assistant.

No. You are stoic and resilient.

You are the only face she has seen in a week.

You are chat and patience.

You are valuable and valued.

You are more than 'just'.

*************************

People are a million dreams.

They are fears, hopes, friends, providers...

They are daughters and sons; makers and leaders.

We are all important episodes in this history of ours.

More than 'just'.

Just more.

I hope you enjoyed my poem. Please have a look at my other work if you can. There's a link below. Thanks.

inspirational
8

About the Creator

Deborah Robinson

I'm new to the 'writing for real' scene. Previously, I've kept my poetry and writing under wraps in a fancy notebook, but now I've decided to give it a proper go!

I hope you enjoy my work.

Thanks, Deborah.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.