Poets logo

Just A Minute

A View From The Dock

By Niall James BradleyPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
Just A Minute
Photo by Tingey Injury Law Firm on Unsplash

I wrote this for the 'Just A Minute' competition but was a day too late to enter. Thought I'd post it anyway for you to enjoy...

To whom it may concern

(you know who you are),

You took me to court,

made me sit and listen

as your lies coloured

the minds of the jury,

blackening my name

and my character, for all.

I defended myself

with the truth,

but it wasn't enough,

and now I sit here

guilty, but not defeated.

My gloves

have been removed,

my shackles to etiquette

have been broken,

these things

which I have not done,

which I sit here

convicted of doing,

I am now

at liberty

to prosecute

with impunity.

So be on notice,

be aware,

that wherever you are

be it London,

Milton Keynes

or Glasgow,

I will be there,

I will be behind you

I will follow

your every word

on the Net,

Listen to every conversation

In your home.

For from this point forward

a horses head

in your bed

should be the least

of your worries!

For a poem like this

takes only a minute

to write.

slam poetry

About the Creator

Niall James Bradley

I am a teacher who lives in the north west of England. I write about many subjects, but mainly I write non-fiction about things that interest me, fiction about what comes into my head and poetry about how I feel.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Manisha Dhalani2 months ago

    Oooo, that took a dark turn. Hope you're okay!

Niall James BradleyWritten by Niall James Bradley

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.