Poets logo

Just a Lovely Comfortable Playlist and a Poem

This is my seventh new entry into the Vocal "Get Comfortable" Challenge,

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
8

This is my seventh new entry into the Vocal "Get Comfortable" Challenge, combining a short playlist of some of my favourite songs with a poem that you can read at the end of this piece.

Introduction

I was listening to a “War Child” compilation and one of the songs that came on was the beautiful “Calico Skies” by Paul McCartney and I thought why not do a playlist of lovely songs that almost make you feel hygge and comfortable? This could almost go into the Vocal “Get Comfortable” Challenge if it were a poem, and if I include a short poem at the end I may actually enter it. I have included the poem at the end so I hope Vocal are fine with this piece being entered under the poetry community. A few of these songs have been included in other playlists of mine but I think they are all just beautiful pieces of music, and I hope you agree too.

So here we go with the playlist.

Calico Skies by Paul McCartney

I was listening to “Hope” the 2003 charity album to help victims of the war in Iraq, and this beauty from Paul McCartney’s “Flaming Pie” came on. The opening words are a far more perfect love poem than I could ever write and this whole song just gives me goosebumps.

“It was written that I would love you

From the moment I opened my eyes

And the morning when I first saw you

Gave me life under calico skies”

The Sweetest Thing by U2

This was originally a “B” side and think it is just a beautiful song of lost love, but it still resonates so much with me, and love the fact that Boyzone, The Chippendales, Riverdancers and more appear in the video. Bono wrote this song for his wife for their anniversary present, last minute as he forgot all about it!

When We Dance by Sting

This is another great song about the one left out in a love triangle with a chorus to absolutely die for. I know both Sting and Bono are seen as completely pretentious annoyances by many but they have been responsible for much of my favourite music and this is another example of this.

For My Lady by The Moody Blues

This Roy Thomas (The Moody Blues flautist) song from “Seventh Sojourn” is one that sounds trite and then just hooks to your heart. It is an absolute beauty that is a gentle perfect love song that I never tire of hearing.

She’s A Mystery To Me by Roy Orbison

This is from Roy Orbison’s final album that contained many collaborations, but this is the peak of perfection written by Bono and The Edge of U2 and a stunning vocal performance by Orbison.

Everywhere by Fleetwood Mac

Which Fleetwood Mac song should I choose, there are so many, that I could include but this is a particular favourite of mine. More beautiful music.

"I wanna be with you everywhere"

And Then the poem.

❤️🎼 🧡 🎼💛 🎼💚 🎼💙 🎼💜

Some songs make you sink into comfort

They give you goosebumps when they appear

Make you feel warm, dispel any fear

Music is a lovely soothing thought

💛 🎼

To walk in and hear those soothing sounds

That lift your spirits and heal your heart

To make you feel you’re hit by loves dart

There is always comfort to be found

🧡 🎼

Feeling hygge and comfortable

Music brings calm right to your table

These sounds that make you cosy and warm

A slow-burning fire within your heart

❤️🎼

The warmth and comfort of this music

For you to slip down and get lost in

❤️🎼 🧡 🎼💛 🎼💚 🎼💙 🎼💜

inspirationallove poemslist
8

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Impressive & creative intro to your get comfortable poem. Brilliant!!!

  • That was such a comfy musical poem!

  • Gideon 6ix2 years ago

    Great list- it flows in the most appropriate way- thank you for sharing!

  • These are great choice in music and it's an awesome idea for contest entry.

  • Dawn Salois2 years ago

    Wonderful idea to combine a playlist with a poem, Mike! Everything works beautifully together. The image is warm and comfortable.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.