Poets logo

Just a Drop of Water

Soul Soothing Journey

By Marysol RamosPublished 5 months ago Updated 3 months ago 4 min read
1
Picture by Ideogram

Soul Soothing Journey

Just a Drop of Water

To exist or to not exist, that is thy question? That is always the question. The point of living always seems to be as if there isn’t one. I will die, as will others, and all we have done will truly mean nothing. We will be forgotten and so will our opinions, words, and actions. Everything we do, create, and experience will just die along with us. So, what is the point? To just live and experience life in whatever way life will allow?

I can-not experience the grounds of Europe, the taste of authentic Japanese food, or the peace of staying beneath the water for long periods of time. Life limits us, our growth, experiences, beliefs. Life tells us who we are, who we are not, and what world we live in.

Life is, without a doubt, a terrible friend. A poisonous, manipulative friend. One that we are supposed to be proud of, be grateful for, one that we should enjoy and not take for granted; and yet, all Life does is kick us, hit us, push us down and then we are taught: “tough Love, it makes you stronger. Get kicked down 9 times, get back up 10.”

Life is abusive, demeaning, belittles our greatness, deceiving, and downright toxic. I’m exhausted.

So, what’s left if Life itself is so against us? What’s left to do if Death isn’t an option to help escape the treacherous friendship of Life?

We close our eyes and dream. Dream of the peace, the desire, the wonder, and wait to see what happens next.

So, I closed my eyes. I took a soothing breath in and relaxed my face and shoulders while then letting the breath of life back out into the world again. The silence created a shiver down my spine and provided a restful mind. I opened my eyes to find myself peacefully confined at the center of a falling raindrop. I looked above to see the swaying white and gray clouds releasing thousands of raindrops per second.

“Is each one really necessary?” I asked myself.

I looked beneath and noticed the land I was slowly moving toward. There were areas that seemed rich with Life and other areas that seemed to be headed toward Death — if not already there. I looked toward the sides and noticed that all the other raindrops seemed to be moving much quicker than I was. I knew, once again, that there was a power both within and around me that was orchestrating this moment of existence.

I allowed my body to combine with the drop of rain and I gave the unknown all my faith.

I gently splashed onto the dirt near the stem of a dying lavender tulip; and as I, the rain drop, broke apart, I transformed into a sweet and gentle light of life being pulled into the stem of the tulip. I slowly rose to the leaves, the petals, and the center of the flower creating Life to blossom once again.

I was then melodiously lifted to the sky as a free soul to regain my strength, purpose, and power. I’m not sure how, but I knew I would be sent out again to provide the simplicity yet empowering gift of love. A love that creates Life to be kind and uplifting, one that creates life to respect because that’s who it is regardless of whether someone is or isn’t deserving of it. A love that creates Life to freely love without curiosity of the responses or what could be returned, it’s just freely gifted. A love that creates souls to take care of each other without reason, but simply because that is what love is and that is what love does. And that is who we are.

A love that creates a life where people accept others without tolerating their own judgment to cloud their minds, because judging others is what stops the true purity of love to flow.

I closed my eyes once again to consume all that was being poured into me.

And then, as I opened my eyes, my soul cried out with a desire to be heard by every being roaming the earth.

“Be conscious of life, be conscious of love, because one without the other just isn’t enough. Life can be seen as an enemy, and therefore we react with defense, not realizing that the life we’re creating is a terrorizing mess. We created this enemy, we created this fight, we created life to be treacherous because loving others creates fright; but as we face the fright — with love as the base, the fright becomes the strength to overpower with grace. We fear the responses, we fear the pain, we fear being taken advantage of, we fear a loss with no gain; but with the fear put aside, without expectations or worry, we see that we are the love and that the fear is just a story — a myth, a tall tale, it has no power or glory. If we choose to be love, if we choose to provide it, gift it, and spread it, accept and abide in it — if we choose to be this – because that’s who we are, then life has no choice but to be a friend to us all.

inspirationalsurreal poetrynature poetryMental Health
1

About the Creator

Marysol Ramos

From Soul Soothing to Mysteries and Thrills. Take a few journeys with me through short stories that will either liven your soul or consume it with curiosity. Either way your mind takes a ride and your emotions are brought to life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Test5 months ago

    That was some fantastic writing! I enjoyed it immensely.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.