Poets logo

Day and Night

A poetic conversation between day and night

By Joe PattersonPublished 7 days ago Updated 7 days ago 1 min read
Day and Night
Photo by David Schultz on Unsplash

The moon went down and I came up.

But when it’s all said and done you can’t stay up.

True, but when I rise you see the day is the best.

Maybe so, but when I darken everyone gets rest.

Oh yes, truer words never spoken. When I rise and shine new possibilities open.

I’m the full moon they see at the close of the day.

When my light shines through you will know it’s the day.

During my time the universe looks so night.

But during my time the universe looks so bright.

Which one of us will be the earth’s recieving king?

Perhaps we both can be if we can meet in the evening.

slam poetrynature poetry

About the Creator

Joe Patterson

Hi I'm Joe Patterson. I am a writer at heart who is a big geek for film, music, and literature, which have all inspired me to be a writer. I rap, write stories both short and long, and I'm also aspiring to be an author and a filmmaker.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Vicki Lawana Trusselli 6 days ago

    Amazing work ❤️

  • The Dani Writer6 days ago

    Wow, Joe! This is amazing! The perspective you've taken here is fantastic 🤩

  • happy work via poetry

Joe PattersonWritten by Joe Patterson

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.