Poets logo

Just A Dream

Limbo, life and death

By Kayleigh TaylorPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
6
https://images.app.goo.gl/ssoEVts1FkpvSGrq9

Running through the darkened forest, quicker than a deer amid a hunt and dragging my feet like the knuckles of an old Orangutan, I see nothing.

The branches hit my face with fierce meaning and for a second I almost stop. But, I can't.

Running faster I can hear the terror approaching, feel the darkness taking over and yet it's already here.

My mind is dark, my eyes are too yet I can see clearly and I feel free. Free, but utterly terrified.

The laughter of menace fastly approaches and my knees begin to buckle. My ankle give way, one then two and I fall.

All but a second I am collapsed as a heap on the floor before I am caught and taken away.

The journey a mixture of dreamlike and reality. I don't know if I am to go up or down or stay balanced and part of this inner reality.

I am scared but in a way, I can not describe as accurately as it feels.

Like the first sight of a mothers child.

Like the first orgasm.

Like the first trip.

Like the first kiss.

Fearful yet full of light, excitement, happiness.

I'm led away to a dream, a dream that I cannot wake up from.

But I tell myself this is just a dream.

This is just a dream.

Just a dream.

surreal poetry
6

About the Creator

Kayleigh Taylor

Book, coffee and pet-obsessed writer who loves writing raw truths and fictional fantasies. I hope you enjoy.

Kayleigh

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.