Poets logo

Jolly Ol’ Saint Nick

And His New Sidekick Ambien

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
Top Story - December 2022
28
Jolly Ol’ Saint Nick
Photo by Suzi Kim on Unsplash

Spinning rooms and floating doors

I’m not in Kansas or sleeping - no more

But how to explain - exactly what I am seeing

If I am awake and not safely dreaming

*

The holidays arrived like before, pretty quickly

We are just days away from visits with jolly saint Nicky 🎅

So how is he sitting beside me here on my bed

With visions of unicorns circling my head?

*

He says, he can’t see them - I must be confused

Sleep deprived, tipsy or have a major screw loose

Whatever it is, I think Im losing my mind

He said he will hang around - just to help me to find it

*

I had it this morning - while I was at work

I could have lost it in the car-others were driving like jerks

He’s belly laughing at me - I’m not sure what is so funny

Omg he just turned into an oversized bunny 🐰

*

How the hell did that happen? I only blinked once

Well, maybe I dozed off, boy- I feel like a dunce

I took a few ambien - just before bed

Maybe that could explain it, and this is all in my head

*

I noticed my Santa is missing from off of my lawn

And he arrived out of nowhere sometime after I yawned

But how did he manage to get in the front door - his hands attached to his side?

He said stop asking all those stupid questions, I got a sleigh - come on, let’s ride

*

All the reindeer are here and they’re not tiny at all

And rudolf, that asshole - just took a dump in the hall

I stepped into it barefooted and they all started to laugh

They sound like elves sucking helium - after a bath

*

And they needed one too - they all smelled like old farts

They shifted shapes, so we all fit into the jacuzzi heart- tub

My mom loved that ol’ tub - I thought would be in the way

Oh what the hell - lets all go get into that sleigh

*

We took off with a start, I began quickly to swoon

I felt just like ET flying in front of the moon

It was so big and so bright Santa handed out sunglasses 🕶

Then everything became slow - like winter molasses

*

We traveled all over the world, from Bangkok to Utah

When the reindeer got tired, Santa rented a U-haul

He said not to tell anyone what I had seen

Took my sunglasses off, said it’s was all just a dream 💤

*

He then snapped his fingers- and counted to three

He said, wake up now, you have to go pee

And boy, was he right- I would have peed on myself

But it’s happened before, I blamed the elf on the shelf

*

Those boys must be best buddies, he told me to tell him I’m sorry

Told me his real name wasn’t dick, it was actually, Charlie

I crawled back into bed - my bladder empty and light

Hearing yelling outside, saying, to all a goodnight 🌙

slam poetry
28

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (17)

Sign in to comment
  • Veronica Coldironabout a year ago

    Great job drawing us into the dream!!

  • 🫶🔔💯❄️

  • J. S. Wadeabout a year ago

    Excelente! Well done Kelli 🥰

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    So well-done! Loved all the rhymes :)

  • About Techabout a year ago

    nice

  • Brenton Fabout a year ago

    One xmas twist - yes!

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    Love this fun read! Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Fantastic, fun, fabulous Top story!!!💕💖😊

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Such clever fun!! Congrats on Top Story!!

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Yay. Congrats on the top story.

  • Carol Townendabout a year ago

    This is hilarious. Great poem for Christmas!

  • Tiffany Gordon about a year ago

    Brilliant! Very well done!!

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    Love this! Very imaginative and gets me in a magical spirit :)

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Julia Schulzabout a year ago

    Awesome, fantastic piece..you don't have to take Ambien to see that!

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Haha. Love it.

  • Great surreal dream piece , love it

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.