Poets logo

Jericho's Wall

An Abecedarian Poem

By Kenny PennPublished 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - January 2024
34
Jericho's Wall
Photo by Mick Haupt on Unsplash

Anger rages within, scorching flames, like a

Bonfire, blazing, its heat spreads through me,

Consuming all other thoughts, igniting passionate

Disgust at your thoughtless decisions.

Ever you play the innocent victim, the one who

Forever forgets the crucial parts you've played in

Generating the destruction of your own relationships.

How you can look at your conniving face in the mirror

I'll never understand. Yet there is one thing I do know.

Justice is coming. Its shadow grows heavy on your

Knavish consciousness, its sharpened sword singing the

Legitimacy of your downfall, revealing cracks in your

Mental armor. The sun is setting, the day is ending.

Night will fall on the face of the lies you tell yourself,

Opening the way for the truth to be seen, and there you'll

Quail before the righteous rage of your victims,

Revealing the depth of your tearful cowardice, your

Shitty excuses will fall around you like dead flies,

Traitors to your name and your self-centered causes.

Underneath it all, we'll see you for what you are, a

Vainglorious troll hell bent on hiding the truth, a

Wicked liar, gaslighting those remaining unconvinced, a

Xenophobic monster buried behind sympathetic smiles.

Yesterday you betrayed a child, one dependent on your love,

Zealously, like he deserved it, you'll get yours in the end.

slam poetryperformance poetry
34

About the Creator

Kenny Penn

Thanks for reading! I enjoy writing in various genres, my favorites being horror/thriller and dark/epic fantasies. I'll also occasionally drop a poem or two.

For a list of all my work, and to connect with me, go to www.kennypenn.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (27)

Sign in to comment
  • Anna 3 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳

  • Daphsam3 months ago

    Congratulation on your top story!

  • This flows so perfectly, that I scarcely noticed the Abecedarian format!

  • Rowan Finley 4 months ago

    Nice work 🎉

  • Kelly Keegan4 months ago

    I love the idea of a shadow growing heavy.

  • This is tough, forward, and powerful. It scorched as I read it.

  • Raeanne Patterson4 months ago

    This was so raw and powerful. Beautifully written! Very much an inspiration for me, as someone who’s new to poetry as a whole. Congrats!

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Tiffany Gordon 4 months ago

    ❤'d it! Very powerful!

  • Jhayden Faeran4 months ago

    I love how you structured this powerful poem!

  • L.C. Schäfer4 months ago

    Ooof, I'd hate to be the recipient of this scorcher!

  • Ayumi4 months ago

    Wow! Powerful.

  • Excellent work

  • Mackenzie Davis4 months ago

    Yay! Congrats on TS!!

  • Cathy holmes4 months ago

    Congrats on the TS.

  • Suze Kay4 months ago

    Wow Kenny, this poem just thrummed with anger and intensity. I loved the stream-of-consciousness flow that you accomplished through the structure. What a powerful, moving poem. Fuck that person, whoever they are lol.

  • Wow! What a punch packed in an Abecedarian poem! “How you can look at your conniving face in the mirror I'll never understand”… so well said!

  • Mackenzie Davis4 months ago

    Ooh remind me never to anger you! This is so biting, so eloquent too. Beautifully, righteously, done! I peeked at the comment section and now add me to the list of those curious about your inspiration…👀

  • Cathy holmes4 months ago

    This is fantastic and I'm seeing red, or orange. Really, really well done.

  • Mother Combs4 months ago

    Sounds like you met the same person I did

  • Test4 months ago

    Holy shit Kenny! This is so powerful! Brilliant entry!

  • Oh wow, this was soooo intense! In the end, people always get what they deserve. Loved your Abecedarian!

  • Jay Kantor4 months ago

    Kp - Ah, the Unscrupulous ~ "Knavish" - I've certainly had my share of them within my career. Just a lot of "Puffers" we liked to call them! All of them are "Innocent Victims" - You're Fun - Jk

  • Hannah Moore4 months ago

    I was wondering whether this was about a specific person - and if so, I may have missed a news article. But it could stand for many people, too.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.