Poets logo

Je suis Morgan le Fey

A poem about remembering the unstoppable power and light within

By Sadie Hirsch Published about a year ago Updated about a year ago 2 min read
Like

I put myself to bed

I wonder if I even sleep

The blur of dream into reality

I do it because I love me

I lay and stare at silhouettes

I wonder what mine looks like

To you, is it a soul in motion

Or a 2D view of a body you misuse

My brain needs its bath

Soothe anxiety between the cracks

Cleanse the filth I secretly say

Toxins that pervade my liquid haze

Me, the fire that roams the Earth

The rage of scorned women past

The smoke that chokes you in the dark

With the end of my pointed look

Me, the daughter of the fae

The blessed and the cursed and the wrongfully hurt

With the strength of a billion horses

On wings of dragons that burns through corpses

Wrapped up in soft skin of Velveteen

You never saw the gilded Queen

Too late

You cannot poison fire

It consumes all in its flame

It'll burn you into the ground

And raise life from the dead

The fae flies high above

Looking down at you with apathy

Seeing guilt and gore and gold

She knows which one you fiend

I still can't sleep

These wounds throb in the dark

Pulsing purple pain

Channeling visions of your veins

I roll off the cliff in my brain

Fall into red thought

Chaotic lines of colors and creams

I remember the only one

Who ever caught me, was me

The only one to hold my hand

The only one to hold my heart

The only one to be brave over afraid

The only one ablaze in the dark

So what does a fire and fae

Need with a human

Who never learned how to hold either

Flinches and screams

Green at scorched envy

If you can't handle heat

You don't belong at my feet

I'll burn you to ashes while I smile

And swallow your soul as I grin

Because that silhouette isn't a ghost

Or a figment of a dream

I'm the flickering phantom of love

Or the hellhound chasing you in every sleeping and waking dream

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Sadie Hirsch

Mystical creative who writes, dreams, dances and sings

Breast Cancer survivor at 35, grateful for each day I'm alive

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.