Poets logo

Jasmine, Silver Moon, and a Ten-Headed Serpent

Longing for Love

By Suresh NatarajanPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Jasmine, Silver Moon, and a Ten-Headed Serpent
Photo by Alexander Grey on Unsplash

Hello, dearest?

The jasmine I adorn in my hair It withers everyday.

The silver moon comes looking for you everyday.

Dearest, when will you come? When will you arrive, dearest?

Like a ten-headed serpent, when will you kiss me?

I suffer in my loneliness.

Everyday I meet you, only in my dreams.

When will you arrive, dear? When will you get here, my love?

On my woven mat, when will you come and swoon?

I look at my doorstep, but there’s no sign of merriment.

I lug this bucket around, but there’s no water in it.

You went beyond my sight looking to make a living.

This foolish woman’s heart, you burdened it with sorrow.

This foolish woman’s heart, you burdened it with sorrow.

Ships sail in the puddle, around the corner of my eyes.

The jasmine I adorn in my hair, it withers everyday.

The silver moon comes, looking for you everyday.

When will you arrive, dearest? When are you going to come, dearest?

Like a ten-headed serpent, when will you kiss me?

Like a ten-headed serpent, when will you give her a kiss, bro?

Oh, lover of hers…

When will you go to her? When will you go to your dearest?

When will you go to her? When will you go to your dearest?

You went far away from me, it made me sorrowful.

I want you by my side; that’s all I ever want.

When the village goes to sleep, my desire soars.

When the rooster crows in the morn, I wake up unfulfilled.

You’re there, and I am here, this life is cruel.

Don’t tell me to stop. Come back to me…

Every day, the jasmine I wear in my hair withers.

Every day, the silver moon comes to search for you.

When will you arrive, dear? When will you arrive, dear?

Staring at this roof, I will breathe my last.

Oh, how long will this agony prolong?

My sigh flutters the clothesline, drying every last cloth.

Like forbidden love, I must speak calmly.

Upon hearing a noise, I must pretend to be asleep.

Dearest, when will you come? Dearest, when will you come?

You’ll come unannounced, and make me keel over.

surreal poetrysad poetrylove poemsheartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Suresh Natarajan

Welcome to my page where I share my love for the Bible. I am a deeply faithful person, and it brings me great joy to share the lessons I've learned through my faith. Join me as I explore biblical stories and daily prayer! Please Subscribe!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.