Poets logo

Ivan Franko

Ivan Franko (1856–1916) was a Galician-born writer and political activist who both wrote prolifically and translated many foreign works into the Ukrainian language. Here is a poem about Ukraine:

By shashank shekharPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Ivan Franko
Photo by Nikolay Hristov on Unsplash

My Love

She is so lovely, shining

with such a pure and holy beauty

and on her face there burns the sign

of love, sincerity, and peace.

She is so lovely, and yet

so unhappy, enduring so much misfortune

that she howls this misfortune

in the words of her everyday songs.

Once I knew her, how could I

not love her passionately

not surrender every pleasure

to give myself to her?

And once I fell in love, how could I

forget her divine image in my heart

past all patience and sorrow

even to the grave?

And how to speak of my love

that other, holy love

to all those who pour out sweat and blood

to all those chained by shackles?

No, whoever does not love all brothers

like the divine sun, all equal

such a one could not fall in love

with you, beloved Ukraine!

love poems
Like

About the Creator

shashank shekhar

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.