Poets logo

"It Was Good"

Why Give When I Can't Get Anything Back?

By Daniel Freeman Published 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
Like

What a divine tool of creation.

I’m able to write whatever I please,

Limited only by my supply of ink

And this stack of paper.

Here’s my newest project:

//

Do you wanna read it? I put a lot of ink into this one.

It’s about a thief who started out rich,

But he gave so much that he became poor.

And now he has no choice but to steal

Because no one appreciated his gifts.

//

Hey, what are you doing?

Aren’t you curious about what happened to him?

How his own kindness made him a criminal?

Why aren’t you looking at the ink on the paper?

Why are you eating the pages?

//

Well, did you like it at least? Any suggestions?

"It was good." That's it?

Did you at least taste the bitter ink?

No? I could’ve sworn I had it this time.

Guess I should add more ink, then.

//

Here, how’s this?

I’ve made him the leader of a band of thieves,

But they only steal as much as they need.

Otherwise their victims would have to join them,

And they don’t want to put anyone else in their boots

//

Do you have any suggestions or feedback?

“It was good.”

What did you like about it?

“It was good.”

That’s all I got with that much ink?

//

Ok, one more try. This’ll do it.

He feels a duty to protect his group ,

But he once left one of them to die .

So that everyone else could escape .

None of the others know about it.

//

They think he was shot and died on the spot ,

But the leader could have gone back to save him .

He started the group to help those like him .

Now he’s responsible for death

Because he only wanted to help

//

But he can’t come clean to the others .

They can’t face a leader that’s already failed .

They already have to steal or die .

Now they have to die poor or die a thief .

Never should have given anything

//

I covered that page in ink.

You can’t even see any white beneath.

So, what do you think?

What did you get out of his story?

“It was good.”

//

I’ve used up too much

Just trying to get you to taste something

I still have plenty of paper

But I’m all out of ink

Guess I’ll have to steal some

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Daniel Freeman

A friend accidentally got me into writing, and now I can't stop

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.