Poets logo

Stationary Resolve

The Only Promise I Won't Break

By Daniel Freeman Published 2 years ago 3 min read

When the Earth returns to the same side of the sun, we tell ourselves another lie.

We think they’re the truth when we say them, but we always forget we ever made them.

Because despite how much we want the reward, we never really care enough to try.

Sure, it’s possible to carve yourself into the world’s most beautiful shining gem,

But that would require effort.

//

You’ll become a god among men, achieving what no one else could ever do,

Always putting yourself atop a pedestal, telling lies you won’t admit,

So high in the clouds that you can’t see the ground below rushing up to meet you.

If these resolutions make you a better person, then why does everyone quit?

Clearly not worth the effort.

//

I know why it happens; they can run fast, but they aren’t prepared to race.

Of course you came in last. You should know by now that your bloated will is frail.

Why would you ever set yourself up for disappointment in the first place?

Are you a masochist? Do you hate yourself? Why set yourself up to fail?

Why can’t you put in effort?

//

Exactly how many people fall short just before reaching their goal?

And I’m sure there are many more who gave up moments after the start,

Letting hidden icicles cascade from the heavens and pierce their soul,

Being left with lacerated confidence and fissures in their heart.

That’s so much wasted effort.

//

I don’t see why anyone should listen to that vicious siren.

Fighting against the land and sea to hear a moment of that song,

Returning to collect the fruit, only to find your mind barren.

Then you realize that there were no singing maidens all along.

I don’t trade life for effort.

//

As far as I'm concerned, your traditions can go burn in Hell.

Stay determined for a week before completely dropping out.

Apparently, as time goes on, I’m supposed to change as well.

I’m supposed to feign confidence before being lashed with doubt?

Why should I make the effort?

//

Maybe I’ve been too harsh. Maybe I could give it a shot,

What you get out should equal what you put in, correct?

If that’s what it takes, then I guess I’ll give it all I’ve got.

Let’s see if this is really how you become perfect.

Oh boy, time for some effort…

//

It’s quite an ordeal, but I’ll prove that it can be done.

What was it that initially made me inspired?

Oh yeah, I’m trying to become the world’s number one.

But I can’t deny that it makes me really tired.

Sure takes a lot of effort.

//

Still no rewards so far, no quarter for my tooth.

I don’t feel better, but everyone else exults,

So then surely behind this there must be some truth.

I’m sure that next time I’ll see some decent results.

But it takes so much effort.

//

I feel the same on a day that should be new,

Not even out of bed with my head held low.

So many places to go and things to do…

It would be best for me to get up and go,

But that takes too much effort.

//

Every new day it's the same exact drill,

Making promises I know won’t come true.

Burn some fat, get good grades, improve a skill.

But I’m bound to my bed by fatigued glue.

I’m not one to put in effort.

//

So many years and I’m still naïve,

Expecting it not to go downhill.

Promise, believe, falter, doubt, deceive.

Back with more promises to fulfill,

Still demanding more effort.

//

Bottles and trash are everywhere,

But I’m too tired to feel disgust.

Even then, I don’t think I’d care.

I should pull it out of the dust,

Nah, that’s way too much effort.

//

No one asks if I’m alright.

Just a phantom watching them

Dancing in snow turning white.

I could go join the mayhem,

But it’s not worth the effort.

//

How does the world see me?

A letdown? Who would've guessed?

On that, we can agree.

I don’t care. Let me rest.

Don't make me put in effort.

//

An acidic storm

Hangs above my bed,

It’s torrential swarm

Corroding my head

For not putting in effort.

//

Can’t help drowsing.

No way to rouse.

Now forgetting

More broken vows.

I won’t put in the effort.

//

Lying dead,

Such a slob.

Out of bed,

Do your job.

But why put in the effort?

//

One left.

Power

Low, should

Charge it,

Too tired to put in effort.

//

Get

Out

Of

Bed.

Sleep. That doesn’t require effort.

social commentary

About the Creator

Daniel Freeman

A friend accidentally got me into writing, and now I can't stop

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Daniel Freeman Written by Daniel Freeman

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.