Poets logo

It's Not An Excuse To Nap

Maybe. Possibly.

By JojoPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

I haven’t been sleeping well lately.

It might be because I am stressed.

It might be because of my poor habits.

it’s not a problem I drink so much coffee.

And yes my phone can be a distraction.

But I don’t think those things are the cause.

Am I in denial? Of course not. Maybe. Possibly.

Truthfully, I am just in search for an excuse. 

The guilty pleasure that is a nap. 

It’s been so quiet lately.

The windows being open let’s me hear all the birds

And the sound of the little traffic, here and there

A sense of calm soothes my ever busy mind

Before I know it. Before I do anything else,

I’m fast asleep. But not waken by nightmares.

Not waking up in the dark cold and distressed.

No. I finally find that peace of mind that evades me every single night.

I finally find a center

where I’m not rolling over checking the numbers that blink on my phone. 

I finally find that sweet taste of freedom

that is sung by all the birds who can fly to wherever. 

Yes that is why I search for an excuse.

But no it’s not my habits or the coffee that keep me up. 

It’s not any of those. 

I stay up because I can’t sleep….

But honestly, because I yearn more for a sweet day nap.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Jojo

I often find myself at peace when I'm around areas with lots of people like cute streets with coffee shops. I love the thought that everyone is simply living their lives as best as they can.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.