Poets logo

It Lurks in Shadows

a sonnet, more-or-less

By Randy BakerPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
generated by author using DALL-E

Beneath my bed, in shadows deep it lies,

the beast, unseen, breathes whispers of the past.

With its creeping tendrils it comes and tries

to rob my peace of mind, which never lasts.

*

Clawing at my dreams in the dead of night,

where echoes of my war-torn soul reside.

With each creak and moan, I put up a fight,

but like a parasite it bores inside

*

The specter cloaks me in its wretched shroud,

sowing poison thoughts that I can’t forget.

It cuts and stabs until I scream aloud.

I choke, I gasp, in a feverish sweat.

*

To slay this demon is my greatest task.

Each night I pray, and strength is all I ask.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Written for RM Stockton's Writing Challenge

SonnetMental Health

About the Creator

Randy Baker

Poet, author, essayist.

Follow me on X

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (6)

  • Bonnie Bowerman4 months ago

    Loved it! Well done!

  • Novel Allen5 months ago

    Very much describes that dreaded beast. Well worded RB. Kind of sounds like mine that I just posted. Great minds.

  • Tommy Ballard5 months ago

    Super powerful, I really enjoyed this one. The final two lines feel almost triumphant as you ask for the strength to slay the monster.

  • Lamar Wiggins5 months ago

    👏👏👏 That was awesome! And that last line in itself speaks volumes. Nice entry! Thanks for sharing!

  • Test5 months ago

    Very creative!! I enjoyed this set of poems! 💓💖❤👍

  • Wow, Randy, that is some powerful imagery and hauntingly beautiful lines. Our past can haunt us with a vengeance. You captured this brilliantly. I have read several Inverse poems lately, and so I was curious how your poem would read in reverse. It works! Incredibly well done!

Randy BakerWritten by Randy Baker

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.