Poets logo

It ends with us

He was like the crack of dawn, Beautiful to see and very serenely drawn, His starry eyes hid pain that the world could not fathom Forever he yearned for his freedom

By Hridya SharmaPublished 6 months ago 2 min read

It ends with us

He was like the crack of dawn,

Beautiful to see and very serenely drawn,

His starry eyes hid pain that the world could not fathom

Forever he yearned for his freedom.

Avy and I were best friends. We were like the moon and the stars. Always together but never one.

He was the moon, serene and desired by many. I was a star that no one ever wanted.

We became friends in the first grade.

He used to eat my tiffin, and I quenched my hunger with his smile.

Ooh, his smile! I still remember our first bunk together, where we went to the seashore. I climbed a rock in a wish to fall in his embrace. He held my hand and held me tightly. My soul knew it belonged to him.

Days passed, and I grew fonder of him. It was the farewell day when he played ‘ Tum Hi Ho on his guitar. I sat beside him. While all others synchronized to the song, I united to the beat of his heart, the joy in his eyes while he played it. His passions were now mine.

After our exams, I went to his house and heard a CD playing. It was his mother’s favorite song.

I saw sorrow in his eyes as the world stopped at that moment.

His mother died that day, and so did his existence.

Today I stand here alone, at the same spot, drenched in rain

The shoes that I am wearing remind me of you! your first gift for me

You always said We are friends always and forever”, right Avy.

Yes, we are!

Today as I start my new life, I want to say is

Only if you could let me tell you how much I love you

I could have made you realize

The pain you carry would have ended

But today, as I kindle these shoes to release our pain

I stand here and say this pain, this suffering

It ends with us!

_Hridya Swarup Sharma

@theserenestories

fact or fictionsurreal poetryPantoumlove poems

About the Creator

Hridya Sharma

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Manisha Dhalani6 months ago

    This was heartbreaking but so well written!

Hridya SharmaWritten by Hridya Sharma

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.