Poets logo

It All Goes Dark

An In Eclipse Acrostic Challenge Poem

By Rachel DeemingPublished 27 days ago 1 min read
15
It All Goes Dark
Photo by Andrik Langfield on Unsplash

"Eventually, it all goes dark;

Chaos comes and takes the spark,

Light is shadowed, nimbus shown,"

I intone words to mute the blow.

Prepare the ground before I go.

She is staring at the sun.

Eyes averted, believing she's won.

Acrostic
15

About the Creator

Rachel Deeming

Mum, blogger, crafter, reviewer, writer, traveller: I love to write and I am not limited by form. Here, you will find stories, articles, opinion pieces, poems, all of which reflect me: who I am, what I love, what I feel, how I view things.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock25 days ago

    Nicely ranging among apocalyptic, personal surrender & anticipation of victory (which may or may not be hers).

  • Cathy holmes26 days ago

    This is great. "Intone words to mute the blow." Love that line.

  • Joe O’Connor27 days ago

    This is great because it's so easy to link the light/dark imagery with a relationship, and "Chaos comes and takes the spark," is a good way of describing what it can feel like to be thrown out of place, and lose your footing in something so familiar.

  • Grz Colm27 days ago

    Beautifully cool execution but with a possible…sad-edged tone.. ☺️ I must have a go at these shortly. I like acrostics and came up with a few too many for last acrostic challenge just didn’t post all of these. 😅

  • Well-wrought! Chaos, however, if I may be so bold to say, is the beginning, and not the end! It is the spark from which order arranges, for creation is love and love creation, and love never estranges! *bows* Stand strong, noble creator!

  • Oooo, so did she win? Loved your Acrostic!

  • Oiiii❤️❤️❤️. Amazingly beautiful.

  • John Cox27 days ago

    Oooh! I like this one even more! Loved the rhythm and rhyme. The pace of it reminds me of Claudius in Hamlet when he’s confessing the sin of murder in his prayer - My words fly up, my thoughts remain below: Words without thoughts never to heaven go.

  • Judey Kalchik 27 days ago

    intoning words to mute the blow. Wow: I have lived this.

  • Kendall Defoe 27 days ago

    Wow, this is impressive. Excellent use of layers on layers!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.