Poets logo

Is Life Real Or Just A Simulation

Would this be discovered only once we die

By Colleen Millsteed Published about a year ago 2 min read
4
Image courtesy of Pixabay

Are you convinced that you live in a reality of the real universe,

That life is exactly as you view it to be,

And science can explain some of our natural phenomena,

Convinced all is real, well all that you can see?

***

Have you considered that we live in a simulation,

Similar to those we’ve watched in movies and visual stories,

Maybe they weren’t science fiction after all,

But true science accounts documented from laboratories?

***

Do you know what happens when we die,

Is there life after death or do we just disappear,

Is it possible that we are given multiple lives,

If that was the case, what do we have to fear?

***

How would you feel if you did learn that you’re a character in a game,

That reincarnation is nothing more than an extra character life given,

Maybe the rules stipulate we have three lives before we’re scrapped,

How would you react, would you tell the creators they’re forgiven?

***

Of course, it would be important to ensure that we did believe,

That we are here and everything is genuine and real,

If we were to know we have multiple chances,

We would give up at the first sign of a painful ordeal.

***

Maybe it is a simulation and we are here to learn,

What better way than to have real scenarios to participate,

Even better that we would believe we had to survive,

Not knowing when we did die we’d gain a clean slate.

***

If this was just a simulation we are experiencing,

What would the real life, the life after death mean,

Maybe we need the lessons we learn here,

While we are watched closely from the real world’s screen?

***

Would you be angry, furious if you did find,

That you are nothing more than a character in their game,

Shut away in a rainbow hued cube,

With nothing more than a well thought of stage name?

***

Think about it, do you really know what’s on the other side of ‘space’,

Could it be another world where their entertainment is nothing more,

Than watching us here as we play their games, their scenarios,

Where they’d gamble and fix wars just to earn the highest score.

***

When I get to the ‘other side’ and if I find this to be true,

I intend to show them how strong their silly simulation has made me,

I’ll return the favour and make them an unwilling character in my horrid game,

But I’d ensure they were well aware of the play and that I hold the master key.

***

I would show them how cruel it was of them to make us play this game,

The game of life, with it’s pain, it’s emotional roller coaster ride,

Throwing the worst of the worst at them, time and time again,

Until they were practically begging me to allow them to die!

If you liked my writing, please click on the small heart underneath, near my name. Or send me a tip and let me know you enjoyed it.

****

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Originally posted on Medium

social commentary
4

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    If it's a game, then whoever has my controller is an ass. Very well said, my friend.

  • Wow! This made me speechless, in a good way. I was just so amazed by the facts in this poem. And I absolutely loved the ending!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.