Poets logo

Is a home a thing remembered?

a poem

By Ava MackPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
18
Courtesy of Annie Robinson H A N D D R A W N

Is a home a thing remembered?

Curious -

what can be reconjured

for instance -

I see layer and layer over there

of every birthday, every Christmas, and on that stair

I know the third one by its creakiness.

I recall where each gold-framed picture hung

the warmth of the fireplace

and the tiny foyer in the winter sun

I call these details I knew so well up one by one

in my dreams and in my waking.

Curious -

what cannot be reconjured

for instance -

the old dining room closet where my mother's wedding dress hung

and Christmas presents were hidden well had

too many layers of white paint, a full-length mirror, and a certain smell.

I stand in the narrow, whitewashed doorway

trying to commit musty cedar to memory -

it doesn't stay.

No matter the detail of my memories,

the number, the sweetness, the truth -

I will never know the old dining room closet by its smell again

so is remembrance a thing enough?

sad poetry
18

About the Creator

Ava Mack

Poetry and little thoughts

Boston, MA

https://www.instagram.com/avamariemack/

https://www.instagram.com/ava.booked/

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Poppy 9 months ago

    This was incredibly nostalgic and heart touching. Well done

  • So close & yet never quite, always mixing nostalgia with sadness & loss.

  • This is beautiful, Ava. It is incredible how memories sometimes flood back, prompted by something as simple as a smell. You describe so perfectly how that lingering nostalgic connection to memories past leaves us craving to return. Well done!

  • Nicely written 💜💯😉

  • Mackenzie Davis9 months ago

    As I read, I considered myself in the future, returning to my childhood home, and considering the same kind of memories and smells. Your words brought to mind how quickly these things fade from consciousness yet can be reconjured when we return to the source . But what if we can’t return? What if home is no longer there? How to reclaim those memories then? I feel full of melancholy, but also, I think that’s what happens when we grow up and away from our old home. A part of us stays there and we miss it when we return or realize we can’t go back. Gorgeous work. As always, I'm left in awe of your writing. ❤️👏

  • Dana Crandell9 months ago

    This has a hauntingly beautiful air about it, Ava! Masterfully written!

  • Donna Renee9 months ago

    Oh I feel the ache in this one ❤️❤️

  • Cathy holmes9 months ago

    Wonderful piece. Well done and we'll said.

  • Gerald Holmes9 months ago

    This is a wonderful piece of writing. Everything about it is just so well done.

  • Emma Kate Coleman9 months ago

    That “tiny foyer in the winter sun” gave me chills! Beautiful, descriptive work. 🙂

  • Paul Stewart10 months ago

    This is beautiful and thoughtprovoking. I love the way you take us through your thoughts and then we think about them ourselves. Wonderful writing, Ava!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.