Poets logo

Into Pieces

Warmth Against the Storm

By Henry ShawPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - October 2023
17
Into Pieces
Photo by Wil Stewart on Unsplash

Was late to venture out here,

Now I’ll have to face the cold

Can’t feel my feet beneath me

The frostbite takes it’s hold.

But I’ve found some that look just fine

And what's more they feel quite dry.

I had no time to bring a sled along.

One arm load is all I’ll try.

I thought I left some footprints,

But the storm has covered all.

Now my face has lost all feeling.

I’ve got to take care not to fall.

Clutch these pieces close to me.

But the pain is setting in.

My hands are now frozen solid.

The elements aim to win.

My legs are growing heavy.

It's hard to breathe the cold air.

My pace is slow and labored.

Fast or slow, I’ll make it there.

The snow has reached my waist.

My legs cannot push through.

Little feeling left in them.

So I’ll keep clutching these pieces few.

I think I see the house far off.

But I just can’t quite open my eye.

Just enough feeling left to move further.

Enough to keep these pieces dry.

Now I think my mind is freezing.

Think I’m losing it as well.

It seems a perfect time for resting.

Might be nice to sit here for a spell.

The house isn’t too far off now.

Someone will come take the pieces back.

I’ll keep them warm and dry til they do.

Someone will make up the difference I lack.

I want to keep on going.

Fight through the awful scene this is.

Still, held close to my heart, the pieces will stay dry,

Even if I have fallen to pieces.

sad poetry
17

About the Creator

Henry Shaw

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Ghulam Fayyaz6 months ago

    I’ll keep them warm woau

  • Aleena Huda8 months ago

    Excellent job! Congrats

  • Lamar Wiggins8 months ago

    Excellent poem, thanks for sharing!

  • Hannah Moore8 months ago

    What an excellent evocation of feeling lost and stuck

  • Margaret Brennan8 months ago

    I felt like this once but was lucky enough to have two very special people (my young sons) to pull me though. You've put into words how I felt my husband #1 left. GREAT writing and an even great reminder that I made it through because of others.

  • This was so poignant and heartbreaking. Very beautifully written and it gave strong vibes of Robert Frost.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.