Poets logo

Intensifying appetite

The power of hunger

By Anna Published 2 months ago 1 min read
10
Photo: google.com

Going on a car trip

We just did the shopping

I turn to my mom and ask

If we can have a snack

Stopping by a restaurant...

The answer is the same as usual

"We have food at home!"

I said that I don't want leftovers

I'd rather eat fresh McDonald's

Then my mum pulls out a bag

From the back

It is full of cereal bars

Eww, I'm sure they're many years old

You cannot trust this kind of food

I'm staring out the car window

Looking at the huge ad posters

I can feel the taste of fries,

Hamburger and chocolate doughnuts,

The smell of chicken nuggets

Permeate the air around me

My delusion

(that was caused by my hunger)

is now off limits

I count the minutes...

When do we get home?

I don't want fast food anymore...

A normal lunch is all I wish for...

Note: Fast food isn't my favourite, don't get me wrong. I'm just trying to say with this little poem, that there are levels of hunger, when you'd rather eat garbage than nothing... And a long day spent in a car belongs to these situations. I don't really like hot dogs, hamburger, or coke (I know really well how unhealthy they are), but when it's the only option, I'll take it anyway.

(They are definitely better and healthier than the expired cereal bars waiting at the bottom of the car.)

inspirationalhumorFor Fun
10

About the Creator

Anna

I love writing poems and stories so I decided to turn my talent into money to help out my family a bit. Please subscribe and tip or pledge if you enjoy my work. Any support is appreciated!🫶

You can buy me a coffee HERE😊

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Denise E Lindquist2 months ago

    Nice poem. Lots of thoughts with it. I get sick eating at McD since my kids are grown and we don't go there. I am no longer adjusted to the food. My gluten-free, protein cereal bars do not have a chance to get old as I eat them in the car on my way to a group I do once a week. I don't take time to cook or make breakfast on that morning. They will hold me until I have time for a healthier lunch. And they have dark chocolate chunks in them.😉❤️

  • Kelsey Clarey2 months ago

    While I wouldn't always rather fast food, I do often prefer food I don't have to cook. XD Great job!

  • Omgggg, I've experienced that hunger before where I'd rather eat garbage, lol! Loved your poem!

  • Randy Baker2 months ago

    As a kid, "at home" food was never as exciting as "not at home" food. Nice poem!

  • Esala Gunathilake2 months ago

    Nice poem that captures the normal day-today life.🥰

  • Leslie Writes2 months ago

    You captured those hunger levels so well here and yeah, I wouldn’t trust those cereal bars either. 😁

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.