Poets logo

Insomnia

A Poem

By Anonymous poetPublished about a month ago 1 min read
Like
Insomnia
Photo by Osman Rana on Unsplash

With the night comes wonder.

Not awe-struck wonder,

but rather "I wonder".

I wonder if the rain,

pounding upon my rooftop,

will rupture through the ceiling.

I wonder if those without a home,

who wander the city streets,

have a dry place to sleep tonight.

I wonder if I will ever be brave enough

to explore all the world has to offer,

or if I will wake up in 50 years,

wrinkled and withered under the weight of

my regret.

I wonder if I'm on the right path

or if there exists such a thing as destiny.

I wonder if a god did exist,

would he truly be so benevolent?

I wonder why the people of Earth

need so desperately to believe in something

other than the magnificence of

taking in a deep breath of oxygen,

and knowing that we are alive;

I wonder why we bow to

the sky,

but not to

each other.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Anonymous poet

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.