Poets logo

Injustice

Injustice

By Benett SPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
7
Injustice
Photo by Tim Boote on Unsplash

I've always thought it strange,

What happened late that night,

When the moon rose proud and mighty,

And the stars hung high and bright.

.

I was only ten years old,

When the truck came to my home,

I did as I was told,

Got in as the engine groaned

.

The owls were hooting softly,

As we wandered through the trees,

Flame flashed through the branches,

As were led on through to see

.

A crowd of hooded figures,

Head to toe in white,

Holding blazing torches,

A dark unholy light.

.

In the centre stood a man,

With a noose around his neck,

Rope around his hands,

A pistol to his back.

.

His eyes were wide with fear,

His dark skin shone with sweat,

Then as we got near,

I saw what I can't forget.

.

I turned to my father quickly,

I couldn't understand,

That man was our carpenter Samuel :

A kind and gentle man.

.

My father shook his head,

Then he bustled me away,

'I'm sorry son' he said,

'It has to be this way'.

.

The sound of samuel begging,

Was the last sound that we heard,

His kind voice softly breaking,

As they ignored every word.

.

We broke free from the forest,

As the rope was pulled so tight,

Then no more sound of Samuel,

As he was swallowed by the night.

.

They never gave a reason,

For what went on within,

Why a good man had to die for the crime,

Of the colour of his skin.



social commentary
7

About the Creator

Benett S

Completely given up on the chance of winning any challenges. There's possibly some sort of hidden rule which bans guys with huge dicks from winning. My investigation has not yet concluded.. .

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.