Poets logo

Inertia

The Torture of Doing Nothing

By Misty RaePublished 11 months ago 1 min read
10
Sweet Silence by Carl Parker. Photo used with artist's permission (www.parkerart.ca)

Thick, sludgy, mire envelops me,

A cool, unset cast,

Its heaviness cruelly holds me in place,

Allowing room to wriggle,

Side to side,

But preventing even the smallest of steps.

Before me,

The future, a welcoming stranger,

She beckons.

A promise-filled road, wide and open,

Virgin land awaiting my special mark.

And behind,

The litter-filled, crowded regret of past mistakes.

Calling out,

Taunting me with the brutal comfort of familiar torture,

And mental bridges not quite burned.

Too scared to press forward,

Too shame-filled to go back,

I stay bound,

In mud,

In uncertainty,

And in fear.

I stay,

Stuck.

sad poetry
10

About the Creator

Misty Rae

Retired legal eagle, nature love, wife, mother of boys and cats, chef, and trying to learn to play the guitar. I play with paint and words. Living my "middle years" like a teenager and loving every second of it!

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Natalie Wilkinson11 months ago

    « Mental bridges not quite burned », yes, I feel this.

  • Nice deep piece❤️📝💯❗

  • Mariann Carroll11 months ago

    Fear does keep people stuck. Very relatable 🥰

  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    This is fabulous. "The brutal comfort of familiar torture," resonates. Well done.

  • Babs Iverson11 months ago

    You can have negative thoughts. Don't live there. There are many positives in your life!!! As always, thisis well written, Misty!!!💖💖💕

  • And yet, you did find a way to move forward to embrace both happiness & a love that is mutually shared. To describe this so well, I'm guessing you channeled earlier moments in your life when thick, sludgy mire seemed a little more daunting?

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.