Poets logo

Sensational Sea

A Feast For The Soul

By Misty RaePublished about a year ago 1 min read
14

The softly sharp aroma of salt fills my nose and makes me smile.

I gaze upon the majesty,

Nothing but blue as far as the eye can see,

Stretching outward until the sky melts effortlessly into the water,

Each becoming one with the other.

The yellow sun, brilliant and generous,

Warms me from above,

Welcome loving kisses that follow a long winter.

My feet rest in a golden brown blanket,

Softly wrapped in tiny grains of sand.

Hot.

Comforting.

The perfect compliment to the symphony surrounding me.

Crashing waves, the background track,

To the seagulls' screeching song.

I step forward to meet the waves.

Water rushes over my toes.

A searing shock,

Achingly cold,

Then refreshing reprieve from the noonday swelter.

I catch my breath,

Moving forward.

A quick dip,

Weightless floating, cradled by the sea's embrace,

If only for a moment.

As the day fades into night,

It all seems like a distant memory,

Yet it stays with me.

I smell the hint of salt left on my arm.

I can't help but taste,

A little touch of the tongue picks up my skin's seasoning,

Subtle saltiness that warms my soul

And takes me back again.

The Magic of Being by Carl Parker (Photo used with permission from Carl Parker Art www.parkerart.ca)

nature poetry
14

About the Creator

Misty Rae

Retired legal eagle, nature love, wife, mother of boys and cats, chef, and trying to learn to play the guitar. I play with paint and words. Living my "middle years" like a teenager and loving every second of it!

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Mariann Carroll12 months ago

    The sensational fun at the beach , enjoy the imagery 🙂

  • Love the words and the images

  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    Oh wow this took me right to the beach!

  • To be at the beach on a beautiful 75-85 degree day, enjoying the sun, sand & water, the sounds of waves lapping at the shore, birds overhead, a gentle breeze. A simple slice of heaven, beautifully expressed, Misty. Well done.

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Beautiful piece, wonderfully descriptive. I felt the "searing shock" and was reminded of times when diving into the Atlantic literally took my breath away. Love this.

  • Roy Stevensabout a year ago

    Lovely and makes me miss the sea even more...

  • ❤️

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Awesome!!! Super superb and sensationally sensual!!!💖💖💕

  • Leslie Writesabout a year ago

    Beautiful. I wish I could get myself to the sea. Still too cold, but soon!

  • Paul Stewartabout a year ago

    This is beautiful, Misty! I loved it and the painting at the bottom! I want to go to the beach now, though.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.