Poets logo

Individualist Teenage Machine

Formerly rejected from my college’s literary magazine when I was a freshman 6 years ago

By Karlie Steadman Published 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Individualist Teenage Machine
Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

Individualist teenage machine

I've got holes in my face full of wires and things,

Let me be who I am

And against what I'm not

Even though it's really the Establishment controlling my train of thought.

Look at me,

I've got ink stains on my skin

I'm so goddamned unhappy in this sack of bones I'm in,

Let me rebel

And post that I'm going to hell

Because I want everyone to know that I'm different and refuse to follow the Man

But I'm crying inside,

What a sham I am,

I can't even commit to my own beliefs.

So I drink away the pain,

And get high to stimulate my brain

Just for some sense of relief.

Individualist teenage machine,

I don't want to die alone

But what is left for me?

I want to be loved for my scars and bruises

But I don't need their goddamn approval

To tell me how to live my life,

I want to be free,

But I can't do that if I want someone to love me

I am so different in this world of gray,

Alone at night,

And carbon copy by day

We're all the same,

Just making a name

For this generation of Establishment kids.

Individualist teenage machine

I don't know who I am

I don't know what I mean.

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Karlie Steadman

Hello friends! I’m Kar, and I’m 25 years old currently residing in Delaware. Welcome to the workings of my mind and healing of my inner child. Perhaps you can relate while I’m on my journey to self discovery✨

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.