Poets logo

Indistinguishable Being

Less than human

By Tessa Glasgow Published 2 years ago 1 min read
2
Background photo by @grevholm via Instagram

My spine is twisted

And compacted

Into a fraction

Of what I used to be…

Posture constricted

And restricted

By the self-treachery

Determined

To dehumanize me.

And my vertebrae concave

Under the weight

Of societies outdated ideology

Of what I should be…

Contorting me

Into more

Of a creature

Than person…

More of an obscurity

Than a normality.

Pain polluted insurgency

Has transformed me

Into this indistinguishable being

Held captive

By my own suffering…

Bound to drown

In the torrent

Of my own bleeding.

**** This poem is my overly dramatic way of saying that chronic pain is a whore and can make you feel less than human.

slam poetry
2

About the Creator

Tessa Glasgow

35. Stay at home mom. Dark Poetess

IG: @deadofnightpoetry

My debut poetry collection, “Wildfire From Hell: Poetry and Prose,” is now available on Amazon.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Emily Dickerson2 years ago

    I had no idea this was about chronic pain! What an interesting thing is poetry that it can be interpreted in so many ways. I pray that God heals you and brings you peace. :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.