Poets logo

Reaper of Dismay

Narcissistic love isn’t love

By Tessa Glasgow Published 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photo by k0rvis via deviant art

I know what it’s like

To be kissed by death,

To die slowly everyday

Under the guise

Of its sugar contrived lies.

To be wrapped

In its putrefied arms

And be told

That the siphoning of me

Into a gangrenous nobody

Was adoration and generosity.

To be chained

To the personification

Of end times,

Because I believed

That no one else

Would love me.

And even though

I broke away

From the embodiment of decay,

There are still days

I struggle to barricade

That old bleeding from seeping

Into moments of weakness…

And those currents of chaos

Carve enough space

To sweep the debris

Of distant memories

Into the forefront

Of unrelated reveries.

And though it hurts

To remember,

I have surrendered

To the truth…

That those years caged

By the Reaper of dismay’s

Narcissistic insecurities

Had nothing to do

With me personally.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Tessa Glasgow

35. Stay at home mom. Dark Poetess

IG: @deadofnightpoetry

My debut poetry collection, “Wildfire From Hell: Poetry and Prose,” is now available on Amazon.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.