Poets logo

inconclusive

poem/song lyrics by zoe frenchman

By zoe frenchmanPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
1

society

is testing me,

to a degree,

my energy

will pay, and

my clarity

will stray, and

i try to be

displayed grand;

consumption of

exhaustion,

no gumption and

frustration;

i am a victim of my own

self-destruction,

constantly grasping to condone

reconstruction;

the future is inconclusive,

why am i so self-abusive?

life can be erratic,

life can be traumatic,

life can be emphatic, but

life won’t be pragmatic,

there are twists and turns,

there are cuts and burns,

there are tears for years,

within cheers of fears;

hit the anti-lottery, and

now i owe debt,

so young, yet so tottery, but

i’m not done yet;

tripping over and falling

through the cracks,

exploiting myself, stalling

to relax,

if only i viewed my being

through the eyes of a loved one,

oh, how it would be so freeing,

to feel the warmth from the sun;

the future is inconclusive,

why am i so self-abusive?

life can be dramatic,

life can be dogmatic,

life can be emphatic, but

life won’t be pragmatic,

there are twists and turns,

there are cuts and burns,

there are tears for years,

within cheers of fears;

i’ve hid

my hits,

i’ve quit

my lists,

i’ve drowned

in deep sorrow,

i’ve frowned

at tomorrow,

my perception

of my image,

like deception

of a scrimmage,

a mindless hope,

is a timeless scope,

and a mental rope,

with no gentle slope,

i embrace the snow,

as i chase the blow,

i melt and i grow,

i felt highly low,

till i saw the glow

of the raw backflow,

in which you neither choose to leave,

nor are my changing views naïve;

the future is inconclusive,

why am i so self-abusive?

life can be dramatic,

life can be traumatic,

life can be erratic,

life can be dogmatic,

life can be emphatic, but

life won’t be pragmatic,

there are twists and turns,

there are cuts and burns,

there are tears for years,

within cheers of fears,

the overwhelming convolution

of questioning my contribution

has finally begun to

subside with what i pursue,

increasing my sense of success,

decreases the impact of stress.

by Zoe Frenchman

sad poetryperformance poetry
1

About the Creator

zoe frenchman

I’m Zoe, I’m 21, and I’m an aspiring writer, filmmaker, musician, & mental health advocate. I’m a poet and content writer currently enrolled in the Creative Writing BFA program at Full Sail U!

LinkTree (all social and professional links)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.