Fiction logo

Fish Face

The fish POV.

By Mark GagnonPublished 6 days ago 3 min read
Top Story - June 2024
31

Is it safe? Is it safe? It must be safe. I don’t hear any fishing lures plunking into the water or boats with trolling motors plying the surface of my lake. Yes, I said my lake, even though these air-breathing humans treat it and those of us living in its water as theirs. I have been battling with one of them for almost ten years. He started this war, but he’ll never win.

It all started when I was just a minnow, darting helter-skelter, fascinated by my surroundings. My cousins and I were small, so we swam in a school for protection and stayed away from the deep water where the predators lived. No one told us about the killers living on the lake’s surface. We learned about them the hard way.

It started as a faint hum, barely detectable to our senses. The hum grew into an annoying buzz and rapidly became a sensory-numbing roar. A dark shadow floated in the water above us, stopping directly over our heads. We were young and allowed our curiosity to take control. It was the last thing many of my fellow school friends did. A large shadowy object sifted through the water, trapping many of my comrades.

None of this made any sense to me, so I swam to the surface for a better view. Careful not to expose my gills to the air, my face breached the surface of the water. That was the first time I spotted the human who would become my lifelong enemy.

He was younger than his companions and clearly a novice at what people call fishing. A much older man, possibly his grandfather, was instructing him on the correct way to skewer one of my schoolmates with a hook-shaped thing attached to a string. My unfortunate friend was now bait. Having seen enough, I was about to head for deeper water when the boy and I momentarily locked eyes. He laughed and called out, “Hey look, Grandpa, little Fish Face is watching us.”

“Fish Face!” Of course, I’m a fish. What other type of face would I have? I should refer to him as Human Face because that’s what he is, a rude, murdering human. My enemy for life!

This is a large lake, but fate continually ensured our paths crossed. The motor on his boat transmitted a distinctive vibration which alerted me of his arrival. My back fin twitched whenever his boat came close. The closer he came, the stronger the tremor became until instinct took charge and I would dive for the lakebed and wait. It didn’t take long before I heard a small plop, followed by food slowly sinking into the depths.

My stomach insisted I feed, but my survival instincts knew better. Instead of taking that fatal bite, I would lay still and watch another fish with less control swim in and chomp down. Seconds later, a line jerked, and it became human food. When this happened, I raced to the surface and leaped into the air to show my enemy he had failed.

This game of fish and human has been going on for years. Sometimes, instead of leaping out of the water, I place my face just above the surface the same way I did all those years ago and stare at Human Face. Usually, after reeling in one of my brethren, he’d lean over the side of his boat and scan the surface, searching for me. Our eyes would meet in acknowledgment, then he’d mutter, “Next time, Fish Face, next time.” Of course, I will never let that happen.

(This picture came from a competition a local newspaper is running. I'd appreciate whatever feedback and suggestions you can offer before I submit it. Thanks for your help)

Humor
31

About the Creator

Mark Gagnon

I have spent most of my life traveling the US and abroad. Now it's time to create what I hope are interesting fictional stories.

I have 2 books on Amazon, Mitigating Circumstances and Short Stories for Open Minds.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (24)

Sign in to comment
  • ROCK about 4 hours ago

    Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Sweileh 888about 13 hours ago

    Interesting and delicious content, keep posting more now

  • John Cox3 days ago

    This story is great, Mark! Congratulations on Top Story! The only suggestion I can think of is it might be fun if the human tried to net the fish and leaned out over the water too much and fell in.

  • Tina D'Angelo4 days ago

    Love it! I was worried about you. Congratulations, Mark. They are finally recognizing your genius!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)5 days ago

    I think you've got another winner here Mark, especially with it being dubbed TS!! Honestly though, the narrative voice you chose and the angst of the fish was humorous and made for such a great read!! Loved this!!

  • D.K. Shepard5 days ago

    Incredible picture and a great story paired with it! Excellent work and congrats on 🔝 story!

  • Ameer Bibi5 days ago

    Wow, the visual is superb, really impressive and the content also Many congratulations on TS

  • TahimaAni5 days ago

    wow..great

  • Andrea Corwin 5 days ago

    ❣️I think the picture is fabulous! It is kind of like a Koi and it is for sure looking at us. Loved your story, it drew me in. I liked the thoughts between the 2 main characters; and congrats on TS, Mark!🥳

  • sophia Newman5 days ago

    nice

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • D. J. Reddall5 days ago

    Ichthyological imaginings are too rare, and this one is--forgive me--fishy in the best sense! Congratulations for a well deserved TS!

  • Cathy holmes6 days ago

    Also, I know this one is for the newspaper, but it could also be hilarious if you took inspiration from it and created a conversation between Fish Face and the human for the Vocal challenge.

  • Dana Crandell6 days ago

    I got a kick out of this one, Mark! I'm sure the newspaper will, too. Congrats!

  • Dang this is creative and cute 🥰 I love fishing and I love nature too you created a wonderful piece here fir fishface

  • Shirley Belk6 days ago

    Great story! Submit it to the newspaper. I know people will enjoy it. Congratulations on your Top Story :)

  • Cathy holmes6 days ago

    This is great story. I cheering for the fish. Congrats on the TS.

  • JBaz6 days ago

    Back to say Congratulations

  • This is a great story! It's so unique in its perspective and the repetition in the very first line really drew me in. I loved this! No changes needed in my opinion! Clearly so with a Top Story. Congrats!!

  • Yayyyyyy, I'm so happy for Fish Face! He's so smart! Loved your story!

  • Hannah Moore6 days ago

    I'm rooting for the fish! I feel like there's some potential for a mutual dependence. Like, I feel like the man would lose heart if he were to actually catch him.

  • Jay Kantor6 days ago

    Mark - You 'Hooked' me with the Title - ~ Catch & Release, Jay ~

  • Rachel Deeming6 days ago

    Good luck in the competition! I can't think of anything you could add or change. I think it's good.

  • JBaz6 days ago

    This made me chuckle thinking about the feud that is going on between the two. Fish or more than just a sport. AND THAT FACE is freaky.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.