Poets logo

In the words of Fleetwood Mac

I've been afraid of changing

By RooPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like

In the future I see you,

And me, and you and me and you, but me? I'm different.

I will be a new rendition, a stronger, braver, more complete version of myself. Who's laughter isn't sometimes forced, who's eyes don't leak tears when faced with unexpected kindness.

I won't be anxious anymore or confused or overwhelmed. I won't need you to hold together the pieces of me, promising me that it's okay that I hurt. Because I'm doing better.

Do you know how tiering it is, to feel like a working copy? To know that you are so close to being what everyone else believes you to be, but not quite.

You all look at me with eyes full of wonder, desperate to hear my thoughts, thrilled by my brashness, but I am not who you all think I am. I am not who you all love.

Not yet at least.

Yeah I know I'm fucking better. And really, you think I'm kinda perfect.

You just love me so much.

And even tho I will be different, and the country that we make our love in will be different, and our landscapes and our experiences and our faces and our bodies will be different,

you and me, and me and you, we won't be different.

and you? You will still be the same

You will still be strong, and brave and a complete version of yourself, with laughter never forced and eyes that never leak, but crinkle at the edges.

I will watch you, bright eyed and eager as you spill out your thoughts in your gentle mannered ease, knowing that you are exactly who I think you are. Exactly who I love.

I don't think you could get any better. Infact I think you're kinda perfect

I just love you so much.

And even tho our dreams will be different, and the cars we drive and the house we live in, and our hair and our clothes and our teeth will be different.

Me and you, you and me. We wont be any different.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Roo

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.