Poets logo

In Death, We Don’t Part

A love poem

By Real PoeticPublished about a year ago 1 min read
In Death, We Don’t Part
Photo by Christian GAFENESCH on Unsplash

Invisible,

I am to you.

Hypercritical,

I am to me.

Picking myself apart.

Seeing you,

Rips out my heart.

But,

You don’t know.

You can’t see me.

I’m dead.

My soul has been

Called, so

I watch you.

Lying in your bed.

Clearly,

I am stuck in your head.

Can you feel that I’m close?

I hope someday,

Scientist will find a way

For the human eye

To detect ghosts.

Then,

We can sail off the coast.

Like old times…

Sit and laugh

About the petty crimes

We used to commit.

We were young…

You’re the only man

I couldn’t resist.

Not even in my death.

When I see you’re upset,

I attempt to bring

You strength.

I love to check on you

And hear your breaths.

In and out.

The sound of life.

I wish I hadn’t died.

The night before

I would’ve became

Your wife…

By Petr Ovralov on Unsplash

love poemssad poetryart

About the Creator

Real Poetic

Welcome to my imagination. ✨

Thanks for reading!

[email protected]

Instagram: therealpoetic

-R.P. ❤️

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (6)

  • Paul Stewartabout a year ago

    This is stunning. So much sadness, but penned so beautifully. Those first lines hooked me in...going to read part II now. Well done!

  • "Hauntingly" beautiful. 💔 I love that you present this from the point of view of the one who passed.

  • This was so sad and heartbreaking 🥺💔

  • MT Poetryabout a year ago

    May you find peace in your journey, and may the memories and love you hold continue to inspire and bring solace to your ethereal existence💕💕💕

  • Grz Colmabout a year ago

    😔🎭👍

  • J. S. Wadeabout a year ago

    So tragic yet … beautiful. Melancholic. 🥰

Real PoeticWritten by Real Poetic

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.