Poets logo

Imagine Ever Judging a Person

A poem about appearances

By emPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
7
Imagine Ever Judging a Person
Photo by Joshua Chun on Unsplash

Imagine ever judging a person,

On the things they can’t control.

Like the shape of their skull,

And the state of their butthole.

Imagine ignoring their opinion,

Thinking they’re worth so much less.

Because their skin’s a little textured,

And their hair’s considered a mess.

Imagine valuing a human,

Based on the width of their thighs.

As though kindness and compassion,

Aligns with the colour of their eyes.

Imagine disregarding somebody,

Just because their jeans don’t fit.

Like flesh is a sin and size is a measure,

Of the light their soul can emit.

Imagine thinking that appearance,

Is important in any way.

When really, it’s only the size of our heart,

That dictates what our story will say.

social commentary
7

About the Creator

em

I’m a writer, a storyteller, a lunatic. I imagine in a parallel universe I might be a caricaturist or a botanist or somewhere asleep on the moon — but here, I am a writer, turning moments into multiverses and making homes out of them.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Poppy 10 months ago

    Great poem

  • This was so powerful! I totally agree with you! Loved your poem!

  • I can only imagine..., but I don't want to. I experience to much of it already in the news, online, in those around me, in myself. I want to see others as you see them, Em.

  • D. ALEXANDRA PORTER10 months ago

    I imagine that if one day each of us learns to truly value self - but not that egotistical BS that passes for self-value - then genuinely valuing another would be as natural as breathing. I am not holding my breath for that - pun intended - but I will hope.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.