Poets logo

imPerfection

Who were we before we knew what the world wanted?

By Roseline OtekoPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
2

I'm always in balance

I know how to dance that dance

Got no stains on my hands

I'd never give them a chance

To see

The imperfection that I am

Everyday, I hide something

That I don't think is good enough

I hide and hide till I disappear

And I don't know who I'm showing off.

I stare into the mirror and see

A reflection of the world.

But what about me?

How do I look?

How did I smile before?

How did I laugh?

Before I trained myself

How did I feel

Before I practiced my reactions?

Can I get it back?

My authentic self

Or maybe build a new one?

What if I admit it?

That I'm a cracked clay pot

I'm the bed that creaks

And I'm the roof that leaks

I'm the book with torn pages

I've been that way for ages.

I'm a clay pot with pretty colors

I'm a warm comfy bed

The roof that leaks onto a potted plant

The book that's so good they took pages

sad poetry
2

About the Creator

Roseline Oteko

Sometimes, when my emotions run high or my thoughts are overflowing, they pour into words. Otherwise, I like Ryan Reynolds, eating and lusting after gorgeous houses. Like and subscribe if you like what you read :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Roselyne Oteko9 months ago

    Yes I'm the book with torn pages but it was so good that they couldn't help but pluck the damn pages. I love how you portray self-image and everyone should appreciate themselves no matter what !!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.