Poets logo

If you do, make it short.

Poem

By Jazzy Published 9 months ago β€’ 1 min read
28

The masks we wear

Are seldom complete

Switching them out like the Joker

Or a king

We wear these masks

for all to see

πŸ’•

silk on my face

Much like a dance

Entranced in the way

I am seen

This mask is for me

πŸ’•

Who am I today?

If not by my name,

Am I me?

Perhaps it's time

Take the mask off

For anyone to see

What I see in the mirror

Is genuinely me

A girl without her mask

Is just like you

She's here for all to see

inspirational
28

About the Creator

Jazzy

Follow on IG @booksbyjaz

Head of the Jazzy Writers Association (JWA) in partnership with the Vocal HWA chapter.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (19)

Sign in to comment
  • Kenny Penn3 months ago

    This poem made me think of the lies we tell ourselves and how we then tell them to others. It's a beautiful, relatable piece with an inspirational ending. Loved it!

  • Mariann Carroll9 months ago

    Beautiful

  • I wear so many masks to the extent I'm so scared to take it off and show my vulnerable self to others. But I show my vulnerability through my writing so that feels very liberating at times. Loved your poem!

  • ThatWriterWoman9 months ago

    Beautiful. Masks can be so useful, but it's so easy to get lost within them and not recognize yourself! Really well written!

  • Tiffany Gordon 9 months ago

    ❀

  • Donna Fox (HKB)9 months ago

    This poem was thought provoking and cause for some self refection on my end! I like idea that we all mask to hide our true selves and only present who we think will be accepted by others! Great piece!

  • Laura Lann9 months ago

    Being ourselves can be such a venerable state to be in! Lovely poem

  • Ian Read9 months ago

    A short, concise, and deep piece. Well done!

  • 🎭Great PieceπŸ’™πŸ“πŸ‘Œ

  • Test9 months ago

    Firstly...I love this. So beautifully written. So many masks for so many faces 🀍 Secondly...I wasn't sure where to put this and then saw a notification that you'd published. Just before I got your 'ping'.I had just finished reading 'Something more' and thought it might be great for your Podcast 🀍 Actually I kind of think it would be phenomenal in spoken word ;) https://vocal.media/poets/something-more-y8ht0rrv

  • ema9 months ago

    Great poem and great message!

  • This! β€οΈπŸ‘Œβœ¨ A strong and important message

  • Paul Stewart9 months ago

    I try to be other people, but...Paul usually seeps out. This is wonderful, Jazzy, really well done!

  • Ashley Lima9 months ago

    Love this so much

  • Gigi Gibson9 months ago

    Yesss!! πŸ™ŒπŸ»

  • S. C. Almanzar9 months ago

    It's true, we do mask ourselves around others, and often hold onto tailored masks for different situations. It can be quite exhausting. Great work!

  • Real Poetic9 months ago

    Beautiful and relatable!

  • Rob Angeli9 months ago

    What an amazing poem of revelation and sincerity! all these masquerades and card games. Love the images.

  • Leslie Writes9 months ago

    Relatable! I’m always trying to be something else, but the real me just leaks out! I love it πŸ’–

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.