Poets logo

IF THE WORLD UNDERSTOOD ME.

A short monologue.

By Char Doswell Published 3 years ago 2 min read
1

The day that the world understood me, I would surely wake up unassuming.

I would sit upright in my bed, stretch out my arms and yawn without the usual dread that I feel in the pit of my stomach most mornings.

I would most likely rub my tummy, just to check if I was okay.

Feeling thrown off by the lack of my uncomfortableness, I’d lightly touch my forehead because I am a hypochondriac and I’d take some time to convince myself that I am not dying ….

On the day that the world suddenly understood me, I would walk to my destinations without anxiety or fear.

I’d sit with others who embrace my comfortable silences, where I am able to be a party to conversations but I am not pressured to be a part of.

I’d chime in, on my own accord to tell funny stories that weren’t central to my trauma, and the room wouldn’t look back at me like I am a rescue animal with a missing limb.

The day that the world fully understood me….I would march to my beating drum!

I would act on impulse, and never deny myself the pleasures in life that I have watched other people take without terror.

I’d say how I feel when I was feeling it, instead of holding in my emotions for years, until I ultimately destroy myself, and I would bask in the glory of real emotional freedom.

On the day that the world understood me, I would be sure to take a chance on love ….

I would have escaped my head!

So, I wouldn’t be scared of somebody breaking my heart.

Yes, if the world kindly understood me, and held me within its warmth, cocooned me through uncertainty, and reassured me until the dawn …..

I’d be a different person than I certainly am today.

If the world decided to understand me.

Even for a day.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Char Doswell

4 the self destructive 🦋

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.