Poets logo

If only you knew...

side a ... side b

By Kenji N. LockettPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

Getting back to my happy place

isn't easy as it may look or sound

it has taken years of constant self-destruction and arguing with myself

to know what makes me come back to my center and

to help me remember kindness even when anger seems like the only option

life is not pretty for this person I have to look at in the mirror everyday

depression is as heavy as this crown I carry on my head

have you ever tried to balance both grief and shame?

I am a mixture of jazz and blues

melancholy after we lite a spliff

red wine and thunderstorms

staring at the moon in the nude

conversations on the late night tip

neo soul with a little bit of rock n’ roll

I am that song you keep on repeat

because it takes you back to that place you seem to forget.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Kenji N. Lockett

Kenji hails from Oakland, CA. In October 2020, she self- published my first chapbook of poetry book titled A.F.R.O, which is a personal journey through my acceptance of self as a black, queer, non-binary, plus sized individual.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.