Poets logo

If I Were To Love You

Crashing into Love

By Lex T. BarnettPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
If I Were To Love You
Photo by Tasos Mansour on Unsplash

If I were to love you

My world would crash and burn

Please do not give this any grief

Because a fault in you- I cannot find

I can’t find a single thing that wrongs you

For it is so easy to fall in love with you

And that is why I am distraught

Because I am falling- and falling hard

Down I fall from space above

Speeding towards Earth with remarkable heat and frenzy

But as I fall I grow afraid

Afraid of crashing

Afraid that if I call out your name

You will not be there to catch me

I am afraid I will yell so loudly

I will drive myself horse with words ment only for you

But… Worse fears reside

Deep within my aching heart

What if…

What if you were to catch me

What on Earth do I have to offer?

For one as brilliant as I find you

What if you hold me tight

Tight enough to carry my fear and fights

Only to tire

And throw me back the way I came

What if I am left to aimlessly wonder space

With no guidance or home to gravitate to

If I were to love you

Would my bones shatter and my blood spill?

Would your rejection haunt me still?

Would I be left alone, mine soul to kill?

I am scared of the if

If I were to love you

love poemssad poetry
1

About the Creator

Lex T. Barnett

She is enthused with worlds of fantasy to a point where it hinges on obsession. A hopeless romantiic at the best of times and a sobbing mess at the worst.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Kris Griffith2 years ago

    The "if's" in life can instill fear in the best of us. Relax and let yourself be loved.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.