Poets logo

If I Were a Poet

I'd Tell you a Tale

By Cindy CalderPublished 12 months ago 1 min read

If I were a poet

I’d sing you a song -

A song with no end

Of a love with no fail

Of a path we did wind

On this orb we call life.

*

If I were a poet,

I’d tell you a tale told long ago

By a bard of days gone by

Of a love pure and well made,

So deep and so firm

In the root of our soul.

*.

If I were a poet,

I’d know all the cues

To tell you just how fair

I find you to be in all ways.

You are like a rich, red rose,

The like I have not ever seen.

*

But I am no poet

Just a mere no fuss sort of gal,

So, here and now, I’ll say it anew:

I’ll love you in this life

I’ll love you in the next, too –

As long as the sun, in the east, will rise.

love poems

About the Creator

Cindy Calder

From Charleston SC - "I am still learning." Michelangelo

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Judey Kalchik 11 months ago

    What a lilting lullaby of a poem. A deft touch and entry into the challenge, too.

  • Kendall Defoe 12 months ago

    Rather sweet... ;)

Cindy CalderWritten by Cindy Calder

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.