Poets logo

If I died tomorrow

I'd sleep in

By AshPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
If I died tomorrow
Photo by Brian Wangenheim on Unsplash

If I died tomorrow, I would eat 8 bowls of hot Cheetos with lime, 8 BIG bowls too.

Then, I'd go share my last extra bowl with you, making that 9 Cheeto bowls, and while I complain about how bad my stomach hurts after those 9 bowls I'd kiss my partner and ask them to cook me one last special meal. Yes, I'm full off of Cheetos but I can't die with just a belly full of Cheetos and I know he knows that. I'd say I'll smoke a bowl or we'll smoke a bowl to get hungry because,

If I died tomorrow and he knew it, he'd cook me a 12-course meal, just to make sure he got to cook me a little bit of everything.

afterward, we'd take a nap. I know it seems like a lousy thing to do when you're about to die... but he enjoyed our naps, I'm going to die anyway, let me fall asleep one last time where I am still able to wake up; let me see how melancholy it feels to know that.

When I wake from this nap, I'd say it was nice to wake up for the last time...waking up was always the best part of the day; I'd walk over to the mirror, look at myself and say it was a good life. Despite where I finished off...it was a good life.

If I died tomorrow I'd play Uno at my sister's grave with her; I'd tell her about all the excitement I have about my death because that would mean I'd finally get to see her again. We'd get to catch up and I'd tell her all about my life, I'd ask if she was proud of me and the life I lived.

I'd spend as much time as I could with my sisters for the last time. Go get coffee, shop for crystals, catch a movie, then get shaved ice (saying it's summertime, I hope I die in the summertime; when it's warm and forgiving).

I'd give them everything I own, I would tell them I'd see them again soon, don't be too sad because...

If I died tomorrow I'd spend the day setting up a scavenger hunt for everyone to do once I was finally gone, tell them to visualize it, I'll give them something to do.

If I died tomorrow, I'd get to sleep in.

If I died tomorrow I'd make sure I woke up early today to see the sunrise AND the sunset.

I'd take the longest longboard ride ever. I'd pick any fruit tree I saw and I'd take any photo I wanted without fear of thinking I look weird because no one will see me tomorrow or ever again for that matter... Maybe if I had, had that philosophy while I still had the time I'd have more photos...and free fruit.

I'd take out all the money in my bank account and give it away.

If I died tomorrow I would spend today carefree because soon there would be nothing to worry about; no point in worrying about anything today anyway.

I'd take my pets on one last big adventure and if they would understand it I would leave a tape for them to watch labeled "I died, but I love you still and be good."

If I died tomorrow I'd take a hike up my favorite mountain, get lost on purpose, camp out for the night, and catch my last sunset from there. I'd make sure that I was way off the trail so that no one could ever find me and I'd let earth reclaim me; I never wanted a casket, just the roots I grew from AND if I did that I wouldn't have to worry about what I'd be buried in.

If I died tomorrow, I'd get to sleep in...I never sleep in.

If I died tomorrow I'd be the early bird catching the worm the next day

If I died tomorrow I'd be the new sunset that came in earlier than usual that day.

If I died tomorrow...I'd be more grateful for today; maybe I should be more grateful for today, just in case... because

if I died tomorrow, I wouldn't know today.

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Ash

Hello there! I'm ashl I love writing poetry, the main source to express the inside onto the outside, or essays as a conversation between you and me in order to hear myself better at times.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.