Poets logo

Rainy Day

My Springtime Guilty Pleasure.

By Donna Fox (HKB)Published 12 days ago 1 min read
12
Rainy Day
Photo by Danielle Dolson on Unsplash

Oh lovely rain

So nice to see you again

Such a lovely thing

The life your water brings

 

Sipping my warm brew

I am soothed by the sound of you

The patter of your drops

Rattling on roads and rooftops

 

I take in your smell

Craving another rainy spell

They say petrichor

Is Spring’s best messenger 

 

The crack of thunder

I’m thankful for the roof I’m under

A flash of lightning

Stress in my chest un-tightening

   

All day I stayed inside

I sigh as the storm now subsides

My day well spent

Indulging in your heavenly scent

    

My heart flops

Listening to fading raindrops

I’ll miss you so

I’m sad to see you go

  

I wish you well

Till the drops begin to fell

Untill next time,

I leave you with these rainy rhymes

sad poetrylove poemsGratitudefact or fictionBallad
12

About the Creator

Donna Fox (HKB)

Thank you for stopping by!! 💚💙💜🩵

If you are interested in longer works by me, I have two books published on Amazon.

Jogger's Trail and Fox in The Hole.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Kayleigh Fraser ✨a day ago

    You took me to that rainy day in all of its pleasantness, a lovely poem 😊

  • Delightful ✅🤩 I love rain & storms etc & you captured that feeling well! ‘The crack of thunder I’m thankful for the roof I’m under A flash of lightning Stress in my chest un-tightening.’ We don’t get enough of it lately 🥺.

  • Real Poetic10 days ago

    I love this and the rain very much!

  • Andrei Z.11 days ago

    As long as there's a roof over your head and you can watch the storm outa the window :-)

  • Grz Colm11 days ago

    ☺️👍 🌧 Nice rainy rhymes Donna aka HKB! 😊

  • This was so nice and cosy! So calm and relaxing. So beautifully rhymed as well. You are so freaking brilliant D! I loved your poem so much! 🥰🥰🥰

  • Novel Allen12 days ago

    I love walking in the rain...if its just drizzling. But a sunny day is the best kind of day for me too. Hey D. Enjoy the rain.

  • Hannah Moore12 days ago

    I think my perfect day would be a sunny morning outdoors, and a stormy afternoon in.

  • Margaret Brennan12 days ago

    I love the sound of the rain. It's so relaxing. GREAT poem.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.