Poets logo

If I Could, I’d Rewrite Your Stars

Latte pondering

By Rowan Finley Published 6 months ago 1 min read
Photo taken by Chevanon Photography

This kind of life is not what we signed up for,

we both just wanted a normal family,

traditional, and humble, nothing too crazy.

It pains my soul, when I think of your suffering,

and I wish I could steal it all away forever and download it on me instead.

If I could, I’d rewrite the stars for you,

I’d rewrite your story and memories.

You’d live in a gorgeous house,

with a kind wife who adored you,

and happy kids who called you their hero.

You’d have the time and energy to finish your doctorate degree,

you’d write several books that impacted people positively in your field.

You’d feel powerfully confident and perfectly content in your own skin,

every day you’d wake up, ready for the win!

I’d see you and your family across the sidewalk,

and I’d smile,

taking pride in knowing,

that I helped rewrite your stars.

FriendshipinspirationalFamily

About the Creator

Rowan Finley

Father. Academic Advisor. Musician. Writer. Aspiring licensed mental health counselor. My real name is Jesse Balogh.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Eiman Asif5 months ago

    really heart-wrenching and lovely.. a nice one..

  • Colleen Walters5 months ago

    Poignantly powerful, touching the heart

Rowan Finley Written by Rowan Finley

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.