Poets logo

idling

*

By Heather HublerPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
24
Created with NightCafeStudio

i hear the soft patter of rain

against the window,

watch the swollen beads land

then slide into one another

merging and diverging

the length of the glass,

the sound is so soothing.

i burrow down deep in my nest

and breathe in the faint scent

of laundry soap, the clean smell

wafting up my nose

and pulling a sigh from my lips.

heaven. this is heaven.

the luxurious rub of soft cotton

on my toes and calves and belly,

the downy comfort of my self-made

cocoon.

what unadorned bliss...perfection.

a small ding interrupts my tenuous grasp

on this unicorn morning,

yet i remain stubbornly buried.

i don't want to look at that damn phone,

that soul-sucking box of stress,

but it pulls at me.

My eyes slit open,

briefly scanning the cozy loft space

i call home and

avoiding that filthy lit-up screen.

my gaze snags on the small piles of dishes

and laundry and work strewn about,

but i just wink at their judgmental stares.

they'll still be there tomorrow

and i can't force myself to give a fuck today.

no, today i'm not doing anything.

no chores, no stores, no meaningless bores,

just my cocoon and me.

____________________________________________________

Thank you so much for reading ;) This was just me dreaming a bit. I hope one of you out there is getting to do this though in real life!

Mental HealthStream of ConsciousnessFor Fun
24

About the Creator

Heather Hubler

Reading/writing/science/family=life

Visit

fb * X * insta

OMG creators

Mike Dharr Cathy DanaS Babs Brin

Gina Tiff Grz KJ Thavien CH Kelli

Veronica BrentonF Paul Dean Holly Lamar

Caroline Melissa JS Donna Moe

Gerald DanaC JBaz Kristen Randy

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (23)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iversonabout a month ago

    Chores & errands aren't going anywhere. That's why I loved your line, "they'll still be there tomorrow" Superbly written & loved it!!!❤️❤️💕

  • ROCK 2 months ago

    Hmm. This is very familiar; I think I have the same cocoon. Cosy and cute, just like I imagine you might be. I loved this!

  • Manisha Dhalani2 months ago

    I agree with Sandra - I love the second last line!

  • Sandra Matos2 months ago

    "no chores, no stores, no meaningless bores." I love this line! First, you had me feeling comfy, but then, No! All of the intrusions snuck in. I got nervous, but, you are my hero because you told them where to go. In the end, relief! I loved it!

  • Sometimes the best days are nothing days!

  • sleepy drafts2 months ago

    Oh, I love this. We all need a day of idling sometimes. 💗

  • Holly Pheni2 months ago

    Perfect vibe for the long weekend!

  • Julia Schulz2 months ago

    Nothing like fresh sheets! (When I was very young and went to bed before the summer sun (8pm), I remember the fragrance of lilac bushes outside my bedroom window and the fresh sheets my Mom had just laundered..perchance to dream in that purple twilight!)

  • Low grade fever & several bouts of vomitous..., yeah, I'm livin' the dream, lol. It does sound nice, though.

  • Kenny Penn2 months ago

    I see I’m not the only one who enjoys sleeping during a good rainstorm! lol sometimes you just have to curl up in your cocoon and just be

  • Enjoy your time warm in bed

  • Oooo, unicorn morning! I loved that! Also, yes, all those things will be there tomorrow. The day after. And every single freaking day. So yea, it's so nice to just relax and not give a fuck. Loved your poem!

  • Kristen Balyeat2 months ago

    Oh my, I WISH! You lulled me right in! Now I need to schedule a day like this. Love this, friend!!

  • Caroline Craven2 months ago

    Just wink at their judgemental stares! What a fab line! This poem is so cool - makes me long for a duvet day.

  • Hayley Matto2 months ago

    Making me miss my bed working on my lecture notes between classes, damn. Loved this one!

  • Moe Radosevich2 months ago

    no finer place to be especially when you’re running on empty, like me, love this H2 ❤️

  • Cathy holmes2 months ago

    oh, that damn phone had to ruin everything. This is excellent. Nicely done, my friend.

  • I have one question. Can you fit all that on a T-shirt? I am in need of one.

  • Absolutely loved this poem. You can really feel the soft cozy morning. Great job!

  • Hannah Moore2 months ago

    This is so timely, I was talking today about how sometimes self care is giving ourselves permission to stop DOING self care but actually just BE, as we are, without effort. Feel like I need a bit of this. Parenting makes it pretty impossible though, right?

  • Gerard DiLeo2 months ago

    Very nice.

  • Test2 months ago

    Marvelous work!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.